אני קושית יפה/I’m a Cute Black Girl Pg 39

Festival The holiday of Shavuot is a two-day holiday, beginning at sundown following the 5th of Sivan and lasting until nightfall of the 7th of Sivan (June 4-6, 2022). In Israel it is a one-day holiday, ending at nightfall of the 6th of Sivan.

It celebrates the completion of the seven-week Omer counting period between Passover and Shavuot.

The Torah was given by G‑d to the Jewish people on Mount Sinai on Shavuot. Every year on the holiday of Shavuot the Jewish People renew our acceptance of G‑d’s gift, and G‑d “re-gives” the Torah.

Shavuot also means “oaths,” for on this day G‑d swore eternal devotion to the Jews, and they in turn pledged everlasting loyalty to Him.

Summer Festival So I plan on being at Shul on Saturday night until about Midnight.

This Shabbat is going to be busy…I need to bake a cheese cake, then we will all decide on the best cheese cake, among all cakes that have been put forward for the competition. Saturday is also the end of Shabbat, so we will be doing a Havdalah service and then reading the torah all night…which I am actually looking forward to doing.

It is customary to eat dairy foods on Shavuot. Menus range from traditional cheese blintzes to quiches, casseroles and more

On the holiday of Shavuot, a two-loaf bread offering was brought in the Temple. To commemorate this, we eat two meals on Shavuot—first a dairy meal, and then, after a short break, we eat the traditional holiday meat meal.

With the giving of the Torah, the Jews became obligated to observe the kosher laws. As the Torah was given on Shabbat, no cattle could be slaughtered nor could utensils be koshered, and thus on that day they ate dairy.

The Torah is likened to nourishing milk. Also, the Hebrew word for milk is chalav, and when the numerical values of each of the letters in the word chalav are added together— 8 + 30 + 2—the total is forty. Forty is the number of days Moses spent on Mount Sinai when receiving the Torah

So I could go the easy route and just go buy a cheese cake at a bakery…trust me, with time being so limited I did consider doing that…but that is just taking the easy way out and this whole week in Jewish Studies I have been boasting about how good my cheesecake is going to be. FIRST BLOOD

Now there is a cheesecake that my mother used to make all the time. Everyone that ate it loved it. My sister and I have got the recipe and I have made it a few times…last time I baked it; I made it for my father as well and he loved it too…so I figured I would be the fabulous daughter that I am and bake it.

Ghostival DEMO…I know it is a great cake but if I am going to win this competition I need to stand out!! So I figured I may just bake my mom’s cake for my father and take it to him on Saturday for Shavuot. Winter Festival I mean I don’t really remember celebrating Shavuot as a child back home…so he might not connect the dots.

Anyway…so I am going to try something new…I am going to bake a cake that I have never baked before and I am going to be eating it for the very first time when I have baked it…but hey sometimes when something calls out to you…you just got to run to it and trust in Hashem.

As a kid I was always called a Coconut by other Africans…you know Black on the outside but white on the inside…. when I got to High School the kids decided to upgrade me to an Oreo… I was very hurt at first but as I grew up, I learnt to embrace it and let it be. I owned up to them calling be an Oreo and said it out loud and proud. And so this Shavuot I am going to be baking an Oreo Cheesecake.

10 Best Bake Baked Oreo Cheesecake Recipes | Yummly now will mine look as scrumptious?? I sure am going to try and make it even look and taste better.

Log in to write a note