Day 23: Post a Letter to Someone Else

I am just going to miss this day!! Maybe one day I will come back to it.

After some thinking…I figured why not write a letter to myself. The younger me. Me when I was 18 years old. Looking back almost 18 years ago I guess there is a lot I would have done differently and maybe changed…so here it goes

01 January 2004

Dear Peace

This is the year where everything you have worked so hard for, over the past 4 years comes to it’s final conclusion. You went into high school wanting to be a prefect in matric, and now you actually are one. You think you want to go and study medicine next year, but we both know that isn’t what you truly want to do. If you actually go ahead and put down medicine as your first choice at UCT, they won’t accept you and you will in the end choose to go with your second choice and UCT will still not accept you, as they will claim to be too full for you…you will then go to Stellenbosch University and your life will take a different route where you will end up not being able to follow your true dream of becoming one of the very few Black Chartered Accountants in South Africa and you will never work for a Prestigious Accounting Firm, like you always and still do dream doing.

You may think you are fat now…and you may be okay with it, but watch yourself. If you do now wake up now and actually become active and look after yourself, you will sink into a low point in your life and will find it hard to rise above it. You will struggle with your weight and your moods and your finances and you will struggle to be the real person you wanted to be. Don’t take life as a guarantee and don’t stop working hard. Working hard on yourself and your dreams.

Always remember that you are a great person and that you are loved. Also remember to hold onto the people that matter…cherish them and don’t stay away.

Life is short and hard. Waking up everyday isn’t a guarantee, so live each day to the fullest.

Kind Regards,

Me (@ 35)

You know it is easy telling myself all of this, but it makes you wonder if I did like I wrote myself to do, would I have met my husband? Would I live where I live now? Yes there are many things I would love to change about my life and things I wish I did and didn’t to, but then would I have the things that I love now?

Log in to write a note
October 19, 2021

You should write a note to your future self.

October 19, 2021

@sleeponflyon – I don’t know what I would say to my future self.

October 19, 2021

@ncumisa think about it!

October 19, 2021

@sleeponflyon – What would you say to your future self.

October 19, 2021

@ncumisa that I am proud of the person I became. And hopefully work towards that

October 19, 2021

@sleeponflyon – I don’t know. I will think about it and maybe one day repeat this day of writing something to myself and write to my future me 😉

October 19, 2021

@ncumisa when I have a little more time I plan on stealing my own idea lol

October 19, 2021

@sleeponflyon – well then after reading your letter to your future self I may steal your words and change them to fit my style and the person I am and think I will be.

But actually I think I know what I am going to do….when I get lucky and fall pregnant or expect a child I will write a letter to myself for when I become a mother!

October 19, 2021

It’s always odd to second-guess oneself, and yet we all do it regardless of any heed of the good or bad we’ve gone through.  Grass being greener on the other side of the fence and all that.

I still think there’s plenty of time for you to get to where you want to be…you’re a smart cookie and you can do it.  Just make sure that, whatever you do, you do what’s best for yourself.

October 19, 2021

@tigerhawk – Thank You! Yeah I have got time, but I procrastinate a lot…