Inspiring….

“Success is not final; failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.” – Winston Churchill.

Just finally ended the first season of ‘Maid’.

When I started watching the series I found a connection to it and often felt the story to be too close to home and found myself to be often thinking things I shouldn’t be or at least didn’t want to.

But throughout the last episode I felt really proud of Alex and I got inspired by her dedication to her daughter and drive to be all that she could be.

And so I am lying on my bed and asking myself if I am truly happy…yes I can say that I did things that made me happy…got hair done (Although I hate it.), got nails done,  did some retail therapy,  spring cleaned flat….but all these things or momentary and isn’t true happiness.  Guess that means that my answer is no. No, I am not truly happy.  

So I ask myself what will make me truly happy.

1) Being Healthy

2) Husband being what I know he can be

3) Becoming a mother

4) Having a house

5) Feeling accomplished

How am I going to do all that?

actually make the effort and follow through with going to gym and being healthy. 

I cannot just let myself slip and let it go. I need to follow through, no matter how hard it gets or how much I would rather get takeout or sleep late, I need to be hard on myself and see this through

lay it out for him and not bend

Just like I am going to be hard on myself, I need to be hard on him.

He needs to find his own release and drive.

He needs to put in the work and be better for himself and me.

I cannot continue to turn the blind eye when things are well or when he turns around and blames me or points out my errors.  I need to be strong and stop being a push-over

becoming a mother

Besides being physically ready I really need to start preparing financially too.

While I was doing some shopping and I saw the price of nappies, I wondered how I was gonna do it. My husband and I moan constantly about our bank balance.  Every month I go running to my dad for some financial help. Every week I dig into my personal savings. How the fuck am I going to manage a child if I basically live pay check to pay check now?

I think it is time to see a banker and it is time to start saving for that baby or stormy day.

I need to follow through with something

May that be loosing 40+ kg, becoming a mother,  getting a diploma, getting a good new job…I need to really make a change in me and get to a new level.

And as my tattoo reads….

Log in to write a note
November 8, 2021

“He needs to put in the work and be better for himself and me”

Pretty much exactly this.  Unless both sides hold up their end, the bargain cannot ever truly succeed.  I hope he realizes this at some point.

November 8, 2021

@tigerhawk – hey buddy.  He knows and does try.

November 8, 2021

@ncumisa – As long as he’s actively trying, then that’s the main thing you can ask for.  🙂

November 8, 2021

@tigerhawk – true. Just sucks when he goes on his own trip and looses sight of what matters. I am happy and content now, but it has only been like a day and a half…if history repeats itself in a few weeks I may be feeling like I was on Saturday