Me! Day 7 Four Memories You Will Never Forget

BEARD RiderThe day my mother died. Whenever I think back to that day, I can remember those few minutes.

My mother was on morphine already, my father had instructed the doctor to put her on it a few days before she died. So we knew that she would be leaving us soon. It was a Sunday morning and my father and sisters, and I were at her. I could feel her skin was sticky. The nurses asked us to step outside while they wiped her down. My middle sister wanted to stay there with them and also wipe her down.

I was standing in the hallway and remember hearing my sister scream out ‘Mommy…’

My father, other sister and I ran inside just to be told that she was gone.

I walked out of the room and remember a very close family friend come running from the elevator to us… Oh my gosh I am actually holding back tears right now…so I am gonna stop with this memory now…

BubbleDub MediumThe day my oldest sister got married. Her fiancé…husband now included me in his speech.

I remember the speech went a lil something like this…

(Sister 1) and (Me)…2 more sisters just what I always wanted. He has an older and younger sister.

It was special to me that he included me in the speech and referred to be as his sister in law.

BubbleDub MediumA few years ago my biological mother was in hospital and had to have a tumor removed. At the time we didn’t know it was benign. Thank G-d!

I remember rushing up to her in hospital. Her first daughter couldn’t come up to be with her, but even if she could I would have gone up to her. When I got to the hospital she was sleeping. I remember sitting on her bed and holding her hand and calling her ‘mom.’

I have always called her by her English Name, but that day I called her ‘mama.’

BubbleDub Medium My wedding day!

  • I remember sitting on the balcony of the hotel room and having some time to talk to my mom.
  • My oldest brother-in-law driving me to the venue.
  • My father handing me over to my husband.
  • I remember how in the middle of the night my middle sister and I saw a flock of birds fly over us and together we smiled and thought that was our mother.
  • My first kiss as Mrs. To my husband.
  • I will never forget how my husband stayed away from any alcohol that night. He says he wanted to be present in every way that night.
  • My Sister-in-laws (husband’s sister)’s youngest son dropped my wedding ring and it fell through the wooden floor. When my husband had to put on my wedding band, I remember looking at him with a frown on my face as it was his everyday ring. Thankfully the restaurant was able to lift the wood planks and find the ring on the ceiling.

 

Log in to write a note