So No One Told You Life Was Gonna Be This Way…

Most people can say that as a kid they always had a ‘blanky’ to hold onto…or something like that. Now I don’t recall ever having a ‘blanky’ as a kid…heck I never even sucked my thumb. But as an adult I do have something that gives me comfort no matter what my mood is.

Funny Rabbit Funny Fellini Funny Figs  Little Funny Script Funny & Cute Chocolate Crispy Raspberry Sherbet Inline DEMO Regular Cute Funnypu Hell there are millions of feelings that make me always turn back to… Friends Complete Series Online | Seasons 1-10 | TVNZ+

Cute FunnypuCute Funnypu

I suppose when I was growing up, the adults always said to enjoy being a kid! But I never believed them, being an adult meant no school and doing what I want and when I wanted. Boy was I wrong. I would do anything to be back in High School. Okay maybe not what High School is now, but waht is was when I was back there. I was happy. Not saying that I am not happy now, but being an adult means having to balance so many balls in the air. BILLS! WEIGHT!! MARRIAGE!! WORK!! FRIENDS!! FAMILY!! and I still want to have kids one day!!

Yesterday, while I was driving, I was listening to the radio and the DJ went on about how there is just not enough time in a day to live. I have been preaching this for years… You work 9 – 5…well in my case, and ike many others, I work 8 – 5 but I need to get up and start getting ready at like 6. and then need about 1hr to get home from work. so half my day is dictated by a job where I make someone else wealthy and get paid just enough to cover my bills, eat out maybe twice in the month, do my nails or have my hair done twice in that month or once each…and then have to dip into savings for any added luxuries….anyway so I get home at about 6. Make Supper, shower and then eat supper with my husband about 7ish. Then chill while streaming…and then before you know it, it is 6am, I have slept for about 6 hours and then the repeat button gets hit.

My love life is pretty much DOA. I barely have the time or energy to create joyful memories with my husband. Most of the time we are arguing because he is drinking or working too much…or we are just spending time while watching Friends…today I am actually looking at holiday packages for December so we can schedule time to actually be romantic and intimate and have a solid 3 days, where we can dedicate time to each other.

Honey CandyHoney Candy

Honey Candy

I keep wanting to move forward…on Saturday I was so ready to start the 4 week challenge of working out, eating healthy, sleeping well…okay so I weighed myself on Sunday and I was down 2.9 kg since the last time I weighed myself, but that was like 2 months ago, but what have I been doing since Saturday…eating chocolate and junk, I sprained my back on Saturday when I lifted a mattress so back has been sore for the last few days, but who am I kidding I wouldn’t be going to gym.

The year is almost over and I have nothing to show for it. Okay so I got myself a nice SUV, but I still weight the same…okay I have some new clothes….but I still live in the same tiny flat…okay I am converting…but…no that is a GREAT thing! With my conversion I have created a new social circle and am finding myself closer to G-d and I am feeling more whole.

Chubby

FrancofortePunk

Chubby

Black Cat

 

Chubby

BrownHolmesDEMO

He drives me crazy and I have called it many times and being with him has been tiring and questionable, but at the end of the day, no matter the mood, or stresses, just like FRIENDS; my husband is and always has been there for me.

Log in to write a note
October 3, 2022

I absolutely love Friends and relate very much to your post. As a child, I have had a “security blanket”. However, as an adult Friends is my comfort show. I have watched this show on repeat so many times that I’ve lost count. I have even forgotten the explanation I would give people trying to explain why I keep going back.

It’s been a few months since I’ve watched and I think it’s due to the personal issues I’ve been experiencing. I’m scared that even Friends won’t be able to pull me out of that and I’m not ready to test this yet.

There have been so many instances in life where this show has literally been my saving grace.

October 3, 2022

My 18 year old niece loves Friends and watches it. It is funny thinking how it wasn’t even on air when she was born, but it is something that she can love.

I am sorry that you are going through some bad times, but just like your security blanket it am sure you always trusted that it would make you feel better, I am sure Friends would do that same.

 

😘

October 16, 2022

My daughter (14) loves friends. A lot of the jokes go over her head but she’s watched all the episodes at least once. Lots of her friends at school are into it too. Funny isn’t it, that would be like 14-year-old me being into a TV programme that originally aired in the mid-60s.

Actually maybe that’s not so weird. The original series of Star Trek or Doctor Who aired in the 60s.

I think my equivalent TV show would be Red Dwarf. I used to watch it over and over as a teenager.

October 17, 2022

I don’t know if I could go back and watch something that was from the 60’s etc. A lil while ago I tried started to watch ‘Full House’ on Netflix. I loved it back when it first aired and I was in Primary School, but I couldn’t watch more than a few episodes. Friends just has that thing that no matter how old you are, you just love it.

I am sure your daughter will watch it again when she is older and will get the jokes. I love that she is watching it.