Sucks Being Born Before Pay Day!

I age by a year next week Tuesday. Gonna spend the day busy with doc appointments for Bariatric OP prep and then have Jewish Conversion classes, so nothing big is going to happen on that day, besides my aging to 36. And honestly I am okay with that but I am not going to lie and say that I won’t be sad when my husband just wishes me, when he wakes up, and then goes on his merry way to work.

Last week my husband asked me a question, and since I didn’t like the question, what it implied and I didn’t want to be petty I jus ignored him and pretended he didn’t ask.

This morning he asked me the question again, and since I was sitting right next to him, as supposed to just chatting to him on WhatsApp while at work; like last time, I had to answer him.

Babe, is it okay if we celebrate your birthday after I get paid? – that is what he asks me.

Last year I was upset because it was my bday and he kissed me happy birthday and went off and didn’t bother to recognize the day until pay day. Pretty much the same thing has been going on for the past few years. Like does my birthday change dates every year, explaining why he is surprised and caught unprepared to acknowledge the day and wish me properly? I know I am being petty, since I am 35 and I don’t really go all out for the day etc, but when your family is making a whooha about it; asking what you want etc, and your friend who actually lives in a different country and just happens to be down in CT this month is trying to arrange something for me, it kinda hurts when the closest person to me now, is kinda wanting to postpone the day.

Oh gosh, while writing this I am feeling so stupid and childish. Oh well… Just Breathe and I will move on.

I know that when the day comes, my sisters and father are going to ask me what he got for my bday. And since there is already tense and bad blood between them and him, I will just tell a lil lie and pretend the bag that I bought myself a few weeks ago, he got for me. I do want a purse, so maybe I should by myself the purse and say he got that for me too…

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 18, 2022

I don’t think you are being petty at all for wanting to be acknowledged ON your birthday.  Once the day is over, it’s over.  He knows it’s coming up…plan for it.

August 19, 2022

😘

But it is okay. I have so much going on that day, already! So I may be upset in the morning, but I will get over it!!