What They Put Out There

When you look and see everything that they put out there, it isn’t so hard to believe that the world is full of Alcoholics. I was scrolling through my Facebook News Feed, and came up on the below ads/posts and I got so angry with them, I nearly made some snarky reply….not sure what I would have said but figured to just screenshot them and let my anger at them out here.

 

 

Cadman Bold but wouldn’t drinking because you are alone or bored make you an alcoholic. Of course the are lots of other reasons that would make you one….like my husband…

When he was about 11 years old his uncles used to poison him and his cousins with alcohol so the adults could have a good time, and the kids would just leave them before and fall asleep. Well that is where it started and is kinda the reason why my husband and many of his cousins have a drinking problem. But also for my husband he grew up in the UK, and there the lifestyle is all about getting wasted at a pub after work and whenever possible. But then lets not look at South Africa as a dry country, because Before, After and During a big sports game you gotta crack open a beer and then you braai with more beers and then you have beach parties in Summer with beer,…and clubs and bars don’t ever really look at your ID and make sure that you are at a legal drinking age, I mean I started buying alcohol and drinking in bars at 12 years old. KG Just Give Me A Reason Often he likes to drink so he can get out of his head space and his stresses. Again I would think that makes him an alcoholic since he is using it for self medication, and life is all about Stresses and Shitty Moments!

 

On Facebook there were so many people that ‘liked’ and ‘laughed’ at that comment and I just wanted to smash my laptop. I am a fucking wife and I miss my husband when he is drunk.  Yesterday he was recovering from his hangover; while I was out, he decided to go for a walk on the promenade; leaving a 12 year old boy who is very curious on his own. Now this kid is not even ours and even when we are in the next door room we have to be alert because he is always opening drawers, putting on the kettle, switching on the stove etc. When my husband told me this on the phone, his response to my freak out was that; he had told him not to open the door to anyone, not to cook and not to leave the flat. And he wants me to have a kid with him!! Just as I was about to leave the shop and rush home it began to drizzle so my husband went back home. But just think if he wasn’t hungover he wouldn’t have needed to go out and get air. If he wasn’t hungover he would be in a more sane mindset. If he wasn’t hangover I might not have left home!

Log in to write a note