Catching Up From Last Time

I took off nearly two weeks from work for Spring break.  I was very excited to spend some real quality time with my daughter, who is 9 now! NINE.  I can’t believe it.  I believe the last time I wrote about her in here she was a toddler.  Quick note: She has grown up beautifully, she’s in the top 3 at her school, she’s excels in her Jazz and Tap dances classes, (ballet seems to be her Achilles heel), and she’s a polite young lady.  She’s well traveled, as she has been to Egypt twice, Italy, Turkey, Toronto Canada, and too many states and cities to remember.  Speaking of travel, her dad and I had planned a trip to Kentucky over spring break.  Easter was fine and just before I went to bed I thought, “hmmm I feel like I may be coming down with something.”  I woke up with a sore throat from Hell and a fever that reached up to 102.  We had to cancel the trip as I couldn’t even talk with the pain I was experience in my throat.  In addition, I was exhausted, congested and just plain miserable.  I was not any better by Friday (5 days later) but dragged my daughter out of the house and took her to a hotel about an hour away where she swam all weekend. When we got home I went to the doctor and got an antibiotic since it had been 8 days and I was just getting worse.  I woke up Saturday with an eye infection.  Sunday the second eye joined in. I apologized to L for being so sick and pretty much ignoring her the whole week and she said, “I got to go swimming and you made me spaghetti!” She has an amazing ability to see the good in things.  I’m truly blessed with her.  At the hotel her dad, C showed up and surprised her.  It really made her happy, and me also.  I am so glad he’s in her life so much.

Speaking of C, we are still not dating, and never will.  I have finally come to terms with this and am completely ok with it.  Actually, I am more than ok with it.  It makes co parenting so much easier.  We co parent better than any two unmarried people that I know, and I am not just saying that.  Somehow we make it work.  It’s really easy since we both have become pretty good friends.  He’s extremely kind to me.  He took our daughter and I to Italy last summer where we met up with my past exchange student.  Next summer he wants to take us to Paris!

The other huge change in my life is the process I have started in adoption.  I am trying to adopt a child (or two).  Must be school aged and female.  We have just about finished the application and home study process.  Now is the long part, trying to be matched with a child (or two).  I am doing my best to be patient, but I am really hoping to have a child by this Christmas.

I am sure there is so much to say, but Prosebox has most of my updates.  I hardly used prosebox though.  I never felt as comfortable there as I did here.  I’m kind of bummed about having to pay for it to be honest though.  I’d rather have ads.  I’m a bit of a cheapskate.  I already pay for Internet, I don’t want to pay for everything I access on the Net too.  That could get pretty pricey.

Anyway, I’ll stop here.  I really hope to keep up with this.  I have missed writing.

Her

 

Log in to write a note
April 8, 2018

What a sweet daughter you have.  I smiled when I read her comment about the fact that you made her spaghetti and took her swimming even when you were sick.