Ironic Raven

It snowed quite a bit last night. And the temperatures are pretty crazy.  And just to show that I’m not being a baby about the cold (even though I kind of am) here is the forecast.

Cloudy periods

cloudy periods

-27°F

Feels like -53 (That is for tomorrow overnight with the Windchill)

 

That was me this afternoon after walking to the grocery store. There were deals on Nature Valley granola bars for $2.00, Cracker barrel cheese for $3.00 and Smart Ones frozen entrees for $2.00. So I braved the cold to walk to the store. It was all white outside from all of the snow last night. And there were these intense wind gusts that swept the snow throughout the air. Snow covered the trees. It was kind of magical, when the snow was swirling through the air. Everything looked so surreal.

 I walked through a long series of alleys alongside stores to get to the grocery store. Some guy parked his truck in the middle of the alley, just to throw garbage in one of the dumpsters. This irked me, because then I had to go around him and hope he wasn’t some crazy ass driver. What annoyed me was he was randomly throwing his garbage in a dumpster that wasn’t his own. Likely, because I have seen people do that at my apartment building. Then there is no room in my building dumpster, because of those jerks. But really why be hostile towards some random guy? It won’t change what he chooses to do.

I had to walk by an apartment building to get to the front entrance of the grocery store. There was this huge raven feasting on something. I didn’t want to disturb the bird but someone drove by just then. And the raven lazily flew to a nearby dumpster, to keep a close watch on me. The ironic thing is the raven was feasting on a chicken, or turkey carcass that someone had thrown out. It looked like one of those pre cooked chickens.

I read today that crows will purposely put nuts with shells on the road. Then cars crack the nuts open with their tires and the crows go to feast on them. They are supposed to be the 5th smartest animal….

It sucks that I don’t have anyone here to talk about two of my fave shows. I like to watch the television show "Girls" and also "Two Broke Girls." No-one who I know feels the same. So I just get a blank stare if I mention the shows or a polite response. Karl watched "Two Broke Girls" once but it was the tampon machine episode. I think that scared him off.

Karl wanted to do something last week but I was sick from that cold that I caught from my sister on Christmas. I was pretty bored on New Years. I didn’t want to go out drinking, but I also really wasn’t into staying at home. I have an Irish bar right behind my place, but I rarely go there. And for some reason the other Facebook guy I mentioned in my December 3oth entry was being odd that day.

I felt really comfortable after he sent me that message asking me to go for coffee. He lives hours away and we don’t know one another. My reply at the time was "Maybe" though. And if actually wanted to follow through (with going for coffee) I was going to tell him prior to that, I don’t want to date right now.

It didn’t get to that point though. He was sending me messages about how he was stuck living in the country and couldn’t relate to the redneck girls there. That part isn’t bad. Everyone gets lonely at times. I attempted to reassure him that eventually he will meet someone. And then his reply was this.

 

"Lol you know what though im starting to wonder have the woman of this day and age just forgotten about romance and chivalary and what a guy is about not what he drives and how rich he is or what he looks like or how big his dick is

 

Maybe its just our whole damn society that has forgotten the simple life"

I think maybe he thought I would reply with, yeah romance and chivalry are amazing, screw those nice vehicles and big dicks.  I didn’t reply at all though. I’m not looking to have multiple chatting (messaging) sessions with someone when I don’t even want to date. Plus he lives hours away and I don’t feel any chemistry towards him. Maybe he was just ranting and not interested in me. It really doesn’t matter though.

I had painful frostnip on my fingers this afternoon. My co-worker was nice enough to buy me a coffee this morning. There are no mugs at work and I wasn’t going to put the Tim Hortons cup in the microwave. So I decided to take the remaining coffee home. With the deep snow and intense wind I didn’t want to wear my gloves and spill my coffee. So I compromised by putting one hand in my jacket pocket with the other one holding the coffee, then alternating. My hands were bright red and in pain by the time I walked home. And it isn’t that far. There is this one guy I always see around here who always has full on conversations with no-one else around. I think he may have a cognitive disability. He looks just like this guy but grown up, heh. So I think of him as Gavin, the character in the video.

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 3, 2014

I can’t relate to the extremely cold weather as I am in Florida. I am ever so grateful for being in the south at this time of year.

January 4, 2014

I can’t even imagine what those temperatures would feel like, the coldest it gets here is the upper teens.

January 7, 2014

Its funny b/c I have found that those guys who complain that they are one of the “nice” guys and girls dont like “nice” guys are usually the biggest turds out there. :/