I’m an Open Diary has been.

Well, here I am again.

As the title says, I’m an Open Diary has been.

I was Viper in the original OD , back in 1999. I was one of the original 9000 writers there, back when it was free. Then it went to subscription, and I was there for a year.  So about 4 years total of writing.

I was a taxi driver at the time, and a majority of my entries were about the fares and misadventures I had in the cab.

There was also some random silliness and a lot of flirting. I started a web page called Viper’s OD Picture Page, where people could post pictures of them selves. I liked putting a face to name. I also help organize a face to face OD meet, but it flopped and only 5 people came .

I basically threw away all anonymity that OD offered. At the time I didn’t see a problem with that. But then when people knew you, or thought they did, I found it changed my writing style. I started editing myself, not being honest because I wanted people to think highly of me. Even if it was all a lie.

I became addicted to the attention I had on here. I used to call my readers lemmings.

Anyway, I’ll go on about my shortcomings in a future entry. Why am I here now?

I found my old diary backed up on a cd. I’ve been going through it, extracting my taxi stories for that book I’ve been saying I’m gonna write some day.

Well it is some day now. But reading over my old diary is cringeworthy sometimes. I’m not the same person I was 24 years ago.  But I do miss the community OD used to be.

So I thought I’d poke my head in, see if it’s the same, see if any of the original writers are here, and see if I can not ruin it for myself this time.

Though I don’t think I have as much to write about anymore. Cab driving was a lifetime ago.

Since then I’ve changed careers, changed wives, and retired.
So let’s see if I have anything worth saying, or worth reading about.

 

Log in to write a note
March 15, 2023

Been here since 2000…I feel like our paths had to have crossed… Welcome back!

 

March 15, 2023

@thecriticsdarling thanks for the welcome. Did you use the same name in the original OD?

March 15, 2023

@oldviper I started out as RoxyDiva but then switched to this name as I grew out of being an idiot 17 yr old. (Still an idiot, just not 17 anymore. 🙂 )

March 15, 2023

Hey, Viper – I was on here back when OD began as well.  I was a college student at the time.  Nowadays, in my mid-40’s (yuck, wth), I am divorced with a nearly launched youngest kid in the nest, 8 years into my career, and finding myself needing an outlet once again, and here I am.  It’s wild to fathom just how long it has been and the fact that this place has survived its many iterations is impressive as well as telling – humans need connection!  Welcome back!

March 17, 2023

@flowerandflame thank you. It is kinda comforting OD is still here. You have the same name in the old OD?

EWS
March 17, 2023

I thought we both did a great job with the OD Picture Page. It was highly used and kept me very busy. I was very disappointed that I couldn’t make the meet-up. Even with 5 people we could’ve killed it. 🙂

March 17, 2023

@ews the picture page was all you. I started it, but my web skills were extremely limited. You took it the next level. I was glad it was you that took it over. I see it is still up. I found the link in my old diary. Thought I’d check to see if it’s still there. It is.

EWS
March 17, 2023

@oldviper It’s still up? Where? I have zero memory where it was. lol

March 17, 2023

@ews I’ll send you the link when I find it again.

March 17, 2023

@ews I tried to post the link, but it didn’t post. I tried a second time and it said I already posted it. Maybe the hold links to be checked out? Or maybe because I’m not a member it won’t let me post links?

EWS
March 24, 2023

@oldviper No worries. You can email it to me if you want. ewsentinel@gmail.com