How Could We Ever Forget?

I really hate this day.  It’s something I’m almost afraid to admit, but that day was so awful, I don’t want to memorialize it every year.

I was in the classroom that day.  Throughout the day, I had more than 150 students in my classroom.  They were scared.  They were confused.   We all were.  And we were in shock.  I had watched the towers fall in my friend’s classroom before the day began.  I had a sob stuck in my throat all day long.  But I had to be strong and rational for the kids.

It was horrible.  I just wanted to gather my family in and be together with candles burning as we sat in silence.  I just dread the anniversaries.  The gratuitous memes on social media, on mass media, the annual reading of the names.

It triggers all those horrible memories – the planes, the jumpers, the woman on the radio who lost her parents on that day because they were flying in to be at her wedding.

I promise.  Those of us who experienced it even from a distance will never forget.  No need to remind us.

Log in to write a note
September 11, 2023

I avoid the reminders. I remember cradling my 3 month old son and wondering what sort of a world he was going to inherit. The sorrow welled up in me over the pain that caused more pain… terrorists are in pain. I don’t feel sorry for them but hurt people hurt people. There was anguish in those planes… hate and rage does not heal anguish… I just mind my own business on this day. I try to do my small part to help heal… seems all anyone can really do.

~W
September 11, 2023

I was in the store.  I had been feeling strange all night and been out walking for a couple of hours when I stopped into get a drink.  While I walked down the chip isle, people started gathering around the store television and talking.  We all stood together and watched part of it unfold on live news together.

September 12, 2023

I was teaching a class when it all happen as well. I will never forget. This is one of those days we all know exactly where we were and what we were doing.

September 12, 2023

Thank you for saying what I have been feeling all of these years.

September 30, 2023

@tracker2020 💝