In Memory

This is the one good memory.  He had graduated from community college.  I told his dad I’d like to throw a surprise party for him and his dad was all in!  I told Dave that I had to go to Chico to take an exam, so I’d be gone all day.
I planned it for months.  I called everyone he’d ever been in a band with and invited them to bring their equipment.  They all adored Dave.  They all came.
His best friend convinced him to come hang out all day.  While they were gone, I went back to our house and loaded all of his gear into my car.  The plan was that we’d meet all meet up at the pub that evening.  We had it at a pub called “The Bungalow” in Gridley, CA, where the owner just loved and welcomed us.
He had absolutely no clue when he arrived at the pub.  This is, by far, my favorite memory of our entire relationship, and the only one I still treasure.  Out of respect, I’m going to leave it at that, and not type all the bitter thoughts that are flooding my mind and wrenching my heart, right now.

David Don Current
6/17/1967 – 10/19/1998

Log in to write a note
October 19, 2019

Sounds like a very nice memory.

October 19, 2019

Cherish the good one and maybe more will join

October 19, 2019

Is that the picture of when he walked into the bar?

October 19, 2019

@jaythesmartone, yes.  🙂

October 19, 2019

Sounds like a great memory. Rest peacefully Dave