Why?

When my brother and I were kids growing up in Jefferson Parish, Louisiana (next door to New Orleans), we loved to run and play outdoors like all kids of a certain age do. When you are six and eight years old, life can be pretty carefree. We played cowboys and Indians, pretended we were Mighty Mouse after watching the cartoon show on Saturday morning, built forts, played hide and seek, and, I am sure made a lot of noise.

Noise from kids. I am sure that is what disturbed our two neighbors next door — two retired, elderly nurses (of all professions), sisters who loomed large in our imaginations as impossibly mean ogres because they looked at us innocent, playful kids with such malevolence for disturbing their peace and quiet. And they said things. I don’t remember what. I’m sure they talked to my parents about us causing such a ruckus.

Looking back, I think that’s probably all they lived for. To be left alone in their miserable solitude. Even at that young age, I, the older brother, knew there was something terribly wrong that people could dislike children so much. I guess I wondered how people could be so mean. I was only 7 or 8 years old when I lived there. But the fearsome old ladies were always there, too, shuttered up in their apartment.

I don’t mean to say we paid them that much attention. We just kept our distance. We were wary that a window or door would open and one of them would be there to scold us. It didn’t happen often. Mostly they were invisible presences. Like ghosts maybe.

The story we most remember in our family is of my brother, 6-years-old, crew-cut blond hair, who hardly ever said much to anybody, telling one of those ladies one day after she had scolded us, “God gonna take away all your money.” We still laugh about that line. More than 60 years later.

Now that I am much much older, I fear whatever forces of time, coarse or terrible events, misshapen childhoods, doomed relationships or marriages, led those two women to such a lonely and bitter old age.

I live alone. I know well the solitary life. I know that the unlimited stillness and quiet of the world I inhabit most of the time makes me acutely sensitive to noises and unwanted sounds. I live within some still and deep cavern in my mind at those times. I have ample opportunities to ponder what went wrong, if I choose, and if I am in such a mood to do so. I who proclaim to relish this solitude I am famously know to enjoy, also fear it.

One Saturday night about 10:30, I recall hearing across the way were shouting and running around having a good old time. It’s rare to hear that around here. Sure it was late. They were not a bunch of drunken teeangers hanging around bored out of their minds. Just kids being spontaneous. I lurched from my chair to see what the commotion was all about. Silently cursing. I took a deep breath and realized what I was doing. What this could mean? It was nothing. I was a kid once.

Two nights ago, I was on the beach at dusk. The light was fading fast, but there were still people out coming in from their walks. And there are always families this time of year on vacation. And kids. And I was sitting in my chair looking moodily out over the ocean, cooled by a nice breeze that was starting to pick up. I was feeling a bit melancholy, moody, no doubt about it. It had been an intensely hot summer day.

It was low tide. There was a vast expanse of beach. But a family with their three small kids ambled by. And the kids, in their total uninhibitedness, practically stumbled on my chair, looking at me quizzically like I was some kind of beached whale, and then moving on. I almost had to laugh. But I wanted them to go away. I wanted to take my chair and with it down the beach, away from everybody. Away from the father and his daughter flying a kite nearby also. So near that I thought the pretty kite shaped like an airplane was going to dive bomb me any minute.

My God, don’t let me get like those bitter old ladies. Let me age gracefully if at all possible. Don’t let the night become too dark and lonely.

Log in to write a note
May 21, 2022

Interesting thoughts. I’m hyper-sensitive to sounds that are “out of place.” I think it’s some kind of PTSD reaction from being raised in a home with an angry dad. He was always yelling. Someone was always in trouble. So I subconsciously developed the unfortunate ability to pick up on sounds that were different, possibly threatening. To this day, I still have to go see what “that noise” is,  no matter if it’s caused by people or whatever. I do get annoyed by people sounds, especially if they are at a time of day when I expect silence. It’s sometimes difficult not to be a crotchety old lady.  We must be getting old.

May 21, 2022

@startingover_1 I hear you.  I think I’ve always had a tendency to be crotchety, so I have to continuously struggle against it. Part of the problem is the fact they when you have mostly  lived by yourself as I have, you get very set in your ways.  What really angers me though are loud cars and motorcycles. Grrr!  So inconsiderate.

May 21, 2022

Another great writing.  This one put me on the beach feeling the breeze and hearing the ocean.  It also put me being irritated with the kids lol.  I like to think, though, that I won’t turn into the two old ladies because I so genuinely enjoy playing with kids.  Anytime there is a get together I can be found not with the adults, but with the kids playing.

You perfectly described mine and my twin sister’s childhood.  We would play outside all day turning our bikes into motorcycles, horses and cars.  We also built forts and had clubs that we made our friends go through initiations to be a part of.  Oh what fun days those were.  We also spent a lot of time playing in the cotton field across the road and in the empty cotton trailers.

Thanks for taking me down memory lane 🙂

May 21, 2022

@happyathome Loved those childhood memories of yours.  I had a lot of fun in my relatively carefree childhood (compared to later years), and have strong memories of those times, although they do seem to fade a bit.  That’s why it’s so important to write them down.☺️

May 21, 2022

Oh dear … I’m a lot alone too, especially with Covid ambling around.  There are a lot of kids in my neighborhood but the ones across the street aren’t noisy at all, and the one a little farther down the block normally don’t come down this far, or else they’re not noisy either.  But if I had some right next door?  I dunno.  I don’t think of myself as a crabby old lady, except sometimes.  But maybe I am & am just lucky enough to live in a neighborhood that doesn’t push my crabby button.

Thank you, for being honest with yourself and then sharing it with us.  We need to look at ourselves sometimes … make a mental inspection tour to find out if we’re turning into another species.  I read a good sci fi book once, and one of the species in the book were mobile and vocal when they were young.  But as they got older their bodies slowly stiffened up until when they reached full adulthood, they were unable to move at all, & had to be carried around on litters or else in motorized sleds.  Maybe that’s we we do emotionally, or mentally — get so set in our ways as we get older that we can’t bear anything different at all … ossified.  Something to think about, eh?

May 22, 2022

@ghostdancer Eeeeek!   Don’t let me get ossified, of all things!   Old age is creeping in that direction for me already.  Lol.  I try to keep up with things, but as for getting out and doing new things….hmmm.  No thanks. I am not entirely unhappy with the way I am and my nearly hermitic existence.  Being set in one’s ways allows for comforting routines and predictability.  And after a lifetime of shocks, setbacks and lack of predictability, gosh knows I’m happy to be an old fossil, reaching out in his own way limited ways online, but not in any major hurry to mingle with my aging peers in real life (not saying there aren’t benefits to being more sociable) 🧐🧐😌.  I just don’t want to end up being a perpetually cranky old so and so, ya know??  Lol

May 22, 2022

@oswego I agree — I’m not nearly as amenable to getting out & doing new things as I used to be.  Part of it is my physical condition, but part of it is just plain uninterested.  And I doubt you’d ever be cranky …