San Diego: Heresy to the Gods of Football

Before I get to the meat of the entry:

 

Vegas was Vegas. I was there for roughly 36 hours. That just isn’t enough time. We managed to squeeze in some fun, but nothing out of the ordinary. Although Studio 54 in the MGM on the Saturday before Halloween was something special. I got my picture taken with Jesus, and I saw more risqué outfits than you can imagine. And they weren’t even costumes!

  

But as I’d mentioned, the whole purpose behind the trip was to wind up in

San Diego for the Chiefs-Chargers game. I felt like I spent more time on a plane than I did in Vegas. I definitely spent more time on a plane than I did in bed. Regardless, we all made the 8:00 flight, checked into the hotel, and headed for the stadium.

 

It was a hostile environment. Not in the

Oakland , let’s-burn-a-Tony-G-doll-in-effigy hostile sort of way, but something much more nasty. At

Oakland , they hate you because you root for the other team. That’s understandable, if not respectable.

 

In Diego, they hate you because they think you’re beneath them. Like that time as a kid when you went to your friend’s house for the first time (after being friends for YEARS), and you can tell instantly that his/her mom does not want you there. That look-down-your-nose type of quiet hostility. I wanted to fucking vomit. 

 

Granted, I’m spoiled. My home stadium is Arrowhead. We draw 80,000 to every home game (compared to the 55-60,000 at Qualcomm). The parking lots are full within an hour of the gates being opened (four hours before kickoff). We are the loudest stadium in the NFL. It’s something you have to experience to understand. Every time I hear the Star Spangled Banner at Arrowhead, I get wicked goosebumps. Not in that cheesy “God Bless America” way. But because something magnificent is about to happen in front of my eyes.

 

Nonetheless, in Diego, they’ve got this whole football thing all wrong.

 

I knew we were in for a long day, as soon as we stood for the opening kickoff. I have never, ever, ever been to a football game anywhere and heard the words, “Down in front!” But at Qualcomm, this was the first thing I heard. There was to be no standing on that fateful Sunday. And shouting, “C’mon D!” at the top of your lungs will get you many sour looks.

 

And the fans in

San Diego have got to be the most football illiterate people on the planet. Imagine a stadium filled with all of you! There are a few die-hards among my fellow diarists, but I’m willing to bet the overwhelming majority of you don’t know the difference between a clip and an illegal chop block. At one point, I was in the men’s room when a Chargers fan came in and yelled—I shit you not—“We just scored a touchdown! And everyone cheered at the right time!”

  

This is the sort of thing that baffles me.

 

There are plenty of cities that are dying for a franchise. And I lived in New England, visited Three Rivers Stadium during football season, worked with (gag) Raiders fans, and I’ve even dated a Cheesehead or two. If nothing else, these people are passionate about the game. I felt none of that in

San Diego . The stands were maybe 80 percent full. And there were probably 10,000 Chiefs fans in attendance. I heard the “Oh, we have so much MORE TO DO here in

San Diego —we have the BEACH” so many times, I wanted to puke. Who can’t sacrifice 8 Sundays of the year to go to the stadium and watch your team play? It’s football, man! Sand in your shorts will wait! You don’t hear that shit in San Fran!

  

Maybe I’m just bitter because we lost. It was hard, during the first half, to be taunted by the octogenarian behind me who couldn’t name anyone on his team other than LT. And I didn’t get the opportunity to dish it back in the second half (when the game was really close), because he’d left after the second quarter!

 

At any rate, I’ve got one road game under my belt.

Dallas looms in a few weeks. There has been talk of a road trip. It’s being heavily considered. I need something to purge my soul for the attrocities I witnessed at Qualcomm.

Log in to write a note

HAHAHA Nice football rant about the beachgoers. Crack me up. No offense … KC? Barf. Denver girl here. 😉 I’m sure you love my home team!

November 9, 2005

Good to read you are still coldkicking it live. Come on now GO BENGALS !!! Cincinnati and Indianapolis this will be the game of the year my good man. Much respect.

You make me wish I was a bigger football fan! Alas, I stick mostly to college ball and am not even faithful to that.

November 9, 2005

Nope, you definitely don’t hear it in SF. At Sunday’s game at Candlestick 3Com Monster Park my friend was cheering for the Giants and she was told to “Siddown!” but we’re a pretty good group of fans. Even when we perpetually lose.

November 9, 2005

If you’re writing a book about your experiences this one has to be included. I nearly fell off my desk chair laughing at your description of the SD fans. 🙂

November 9, 2005

Tried to RC this entry and wasn’t surprised that someone already beat me to it! 🙂

November 9, 2005

*rolls eyes* sports! *ducks flying objects*

November 9, 2005

I haven’t been to a live football game since Joe Montana retired. I have been to a few Saints games though.

MRS
November 9, 2005

No one STANDS at kick off????? Oh, they’d never make it in Philly. The partying here starts the day before. I’m actually shipping my kids off for their first over night visit so I can see Monday night Eagles vs. Dallas. It’s going to be CRAZY!

EWS
November 9, 2005

RYN: Who’s Cyndi? *confused look* Eric

EWS
November 9, 2005

He left after the 2nd quarter??? Football fans NEVER leave before the 4th quarter, and REAL football fans don’t leave until AFTER the game is over! Oh, and clipping is something you do with coupons. No? Oh, never mind. ;^) Eric

November 9, 2005

Come ON. It’s, like, omigawd… Sandy Eggo!! Um, like, they’ve got, like, the MAWL… and, like, the BEACH… and, like, surfers, man!! Until you’ve sat outdoors in near-zero temps during a Monday Night game in November, you don’t know from football. (go Steelers.)

November 9, 2005

So….the party never happened. Got some room for a little soul purging with me?

Max
November 10, 2005

Did you rent a ‘tard van this time around? You always rent a ‘tard van in Vegas. I bet I can beat you in football. How good of a tight end are you?

November 10, 2005

And you almost got a drunk dial last night, but I restrained myself. I’m so proud.

November 10, 2005

The old Donco Stadium aka as Mile High was pretty loud, maybe as loud as KC. The new one, no. The problem with SD is that they haven’t had many good teams.

How did you like last week? (you know you don’t have to answer that.) 😉 It was great where they won in the last seconds. We are going to the Dallas game, but you know, my loyalty first and foremost is with the Cowboys. Thats a long trip just to see the Chiefs lose. Heh hee.

November 10, 2005

I’m sorry about all that. With the football squadron and the fans not knowing the details of engagement. I wasn’t actually aware that San Diego had a team. It’s what I love about Los Angeles. No team. Thank God!

I would say that Texas Stadium is a great place to watch a game, but I’ve only been in the booth there. I wouldn’t suggest eating the food though. Let’s just say that the rodents are healthy for a reason and are totally unafraid of the people cooking.

November 25, 2005

yeah, yeah you make a good point. it’s just so ewww. ya know? so, have you done it? just curious.

November 26, 2005

Are you sure it wasnt that you couldnt dish it out because you were too drunk??? *winks* ryn: Cant say that I’ve seen that one. Is it worth watching?

ryn: thank you for the only appropriate advice I got

December 10, 2005

GOOOOOOOO RAAAAIIIIDERRRRSS!

December 13, 2005

ryn: I know you would. I just wanted to make sure you were still around.

Sorry the Chiefs lost today, seriously. I was at an AA meeting today (which went very badly for some reason between others) but anyway, a girl named Lolly, had a pack of Parliments, & I thought of you right away, I honestly did not know there was such a cigarette. 🙂 Anyway. I know I constantly disappoint you, but I hope you are well, & u were such a favorite fav, its hard to forget u. Merry X-mas

December 29, 2005

Sounds like a fun time… 🙂

January 1, 2006

Happy New Year, P!

January 2, 2006

I miss you… where are you???

January 4, 2006

ryn: and what about when that man wants to read a diary entry by somebody who never writes? Huh? What about that man now?? p.s. my cat is also shitting on the carpet. i don’t know why my cat thinks i have time for her. can’t she see i’m busy?? sheesh.

L.A.M.E.

Hardwy.

January 9, 2006

RYN: Jesus Lord, I laughed at at first when I read your note. I could barely remember what I wrote in my last late night babble. Then I went back and read the entry and felt QUEASY. I shall edit post haste! Thanks:)

Bite me

January 13, 2006

hey hon, I totally remember Deliciae, I ran across a diary somewhere with that name and thought she was still writing but it was stale. Please do send me her email. Has it progressed very far?

yeah, i don’t understand how to make paragraph breaks -sal meander

January 27, 2006

Hey Mr. P……..THANKS for the note about Kath….. I don’t think I have her current e-mail…..really SORRY to hear she has to go through that….. please send me her address, Melissa and I would both like to send her a note or something…..collyman1@gmail.com……Hope you are doing WELL, send me an e-mail sometime….. I’ve been working on old cars too much….BEST WISHES

January 27, 2006

Dude, I’d love to go to a game with you in KC….. I’ve never been to a real football game!!….HONEST….I might be out in the Midwest this summer, driving around, keep in touch, maybe we could meet up w/Kath!!!….THANKS again for thinking of me!!….Cheers……Colly

Dew
February 12, 2006

I can see why you’re a hit with the ladies…. Thanks! 🙂

Ryn – read closely – I wandered over to the fod – free open diary – and that’s what the entry is all about. There are different rules for the paid side.

Curious, when I look for you on fod, not logged in, the hot chick comes up on your front page. When I log in to od+, she is gone. But anyhow, the privacy setting works, at least for me, since my diary is not listed on the FOD side. My whole point was that there was always supposed to be a house cleaning on the free side, it’s just never been implemented.

February 17, 2006

So my work on the chain gang should really pay off, then!

EWS
February 21, 2006

RYN: Actually, I used to know someone that was doing just that. He’d download all sorts of MP3s and such, using their provider. However with me, it’s not just straight Internet browsing that I’m doing. I using my internet access to log into my company’s network to do work, and I want that communication secure. Eric

February 22, 2006

RYN: hey sweetie, where the heck are you??? I miss you. Thanks for your sentiment. My Dad always used to say, enjoy where you are, single, married, divorced, wherever. Play the cards you got. I appreciate your sentiment. You will have a family one day, you’re too great of a catch, God is just finding the perfect woman for you ’cause you deserve the best.

February 23, 2006

RYN: Pretty well, actually. It has taken awhile to sink in, but they’re pretty okay now, though worried about various things.

March 5, 2006

Have you ever been to Canseco Field House? Strangely enough, I’ve still not been to a pro game. But I’m learning the nuances of the game, from the NFL network. I dread to think what’s going to happen by the end of the day today (3/5) unless something gets worked out contractually… Hugs

March 8, 2006

Plus, San Diego is really boring.

March 9, 2006

Parli, the ceramic dog was a Christmas gift for my husband. He REALLY wants a dog but we can’t have one where we’re living now, so it was a little bit of a ‘gag’. It’s tacky as hell, but the cat loves it!! 🙂 Miss you boo- write something!!! love-

March 14, 2006

ryn: HA! best note I got.

March 14, 2006

Two for two on the last two notes.