More than you want to know (pt 2)

Beautiful day for a drive.

When I got off the turnpike, I pulled into the first convienence store to fill up my hydration pack. I stuffed it full of rabbit-pellet ice, then pressed the white lever next to the orange pop to get my water. Filling the bag, I sealed it, then grabbed and bought a small pack of Fig Newtons, to “pay” for my ice. Then, I drove to the parking lot for the trails.

I wore sweats, and mildly regretted it, as it was completely shorts weather. I quickly assembled my bike, donned my pack, and took off down the dike which gives access to the trails a mile or two downriver. At the trailhead, I stopped and stretched my legs. Very important to do this. Most people don’t stretch enough in their daily lives, let alone before exercise. Plus, it feels great!

The trail is a clockwise loop about 4 miles out and 5 miles back, the first part being on the inside, where the land rumples into the floodway – the last part being a technical wander through the mostly flat wood of the river’s edge.

This first hilly part is the real contest for me. The contest is to see how quickly I can get my mettle. The first part of this side is the most hilly – many steep grades, some of them with switchbacks, all of them with roots and ruts and lots of technical hazards, with snakey flats between valleys. A mountain biker is only as good as his attitude (plus some experience and equipment). The most important part for me is “trust your bike – trust yourself”. This means taking my hands off the breaks, and learning to trust my bike when I lean in and through the curves, or throw myself down into a valley.

The sooner I get that edge, the sooner I enjoy the ride, and the sooner I am a safer rider. A mountain bike rider who constantly rides the brakes is going to wipe out alot, slow others down, and contribute to the erosion of the bike path.

I got my groove quickly, and was averaging 12mph. About the first mile in, I started to chide myself to drink water – that was why I was carrying it after all – and took my first sip to clear the lines of old water. This I spit or let dribble from the hose. Then I took a long draw as I felt the cold water pass through the pipe.

It was carbonated water!

This too, I spit!

Chuckling to myself, I continued to ride, knowing I’d be no worse off for the lack of water. It wasn’t hot enough to really sweat, and I wouldn’t have drank any water during this period if I hadn’t been riding, so…

At about mile 2, the pumping of my legs and abs gave rise to the sensation that my digestive system was finishing a meal and that the last step would soon be ready. I wasn’t worried – I can hold my bowels for a couple of days at need, and knew this was only around an hour ride. However, at mile 3, I realized this might be a more pressing need.

At mile 4, I am at the part of the trail where it begins to curve toward the river. I am a short distance (maybe 200 yards) from the “halfway point” there. My body is making it clear that “retreat” is not going to be an option either. I begin to scan for a safe place to do my needed deed. Just up the hill from me is a banked turn frequented by more technical riders. It kinda shoots them down the dogleg toward the river. I figured the backside of that banking turn would provide cover from the riding area, and I knew that this far down the path, there was no other civilization to observe my craft.

I shambled up the hill, ditched bike and pack, and began surveying for supplies needed. My body chose not to wait. Racing against the heaving of my bowels, I fumbled the knot of my sweats and dropped my drawers in time to paint the shoulder of the banked turn, some 2-3 feet away. Incredible. I had no idea such was really possible. Projectile forces….

By good chance and a loving God, the spot that was chosen for me to squat was immediately before a pile of tree bark. Thin stuff, like from a birch or something. I used this, and also the leaves nearby. Unfortunately, these are best at moving dry materials – they lack absorbancy. So after 10 minutes of doing my best, letting everything hang out, and eventual evaporative drying – not to mention the two bikers who got a suprise rounding that turn – I saddled up again, and proceeded to enjoy my ride.

I plan to pack the necessary supplies in my backpack before riding again – just in case.

Log in to write a note

oh my word.. the first page and a half was fine.. i didn’t see it in the least… gracious!.. you really need some basic needs testing .. never leave the house without first going to the washroom.. biking has a habit of having to make you go! (not that i know or anything cause i don’t bike ya know:)).. anyys take care hun, Sarah..smile!

OMGod……..You must be kidding me….. More than I want to know????? Yeppers you got it.. But, than again……..It sounds like something I would probably write in my diary too……GIGGLIN at YOU!!!!! Sorry that happened…….. That would certainly be my luck,,,,thanks for the info on what to pack………Grin

Hey…. I’m glad your back, no matter what it took to get you here *giggle*, i’ve missed you. I love your bike riding stories, this was a bit more personal, but it’s part of life, no matter how much we all pretend its not, right? Glad your having fun 😉 Gods Love

Oh … my!

You know…that had to be one of the most honest entries I have ever read…wow