A Quick Update

So, the big news this morning is that my computer trackball is now working.  I have NO idea why it was not working last night and decided to work this morning. My theory is that it was pouting, but who knows. Anyway, In my half-asleep state on my way to the bathroom this morning,  I turned on the computer as I usually do and then went on to the kitchen to make coffee as I usually do. When I got back to the workroom, the computer had booted up and was back to its normal state. I even printed out a junk email to test the printer, and it, too, is working perfectly. The most interesting part of all this, besides the fact that it confirms my hypothesis that my computer is actually a living device with a mind of its own, is how much I got done yesterday with no computer access…

Number of steps walked yesterday 4907:

Until later….

 

Log in to write a note
December 20, 2006

I’m glad all your computer needed, apparently, was a good night’s sleep! hugs, Weesprite

I guess the gremlins moved out of the tower. In my home the gremlins won’t move into the tower (it’s too dusty).

December 20, 2006

i truly believe that computers are like cats… do what they want, when they want and only as long as they want!! take care,

December 20, 2006

Don’t we all operate better after we’ve been re-booted? The nice thing about Windows XP is that very often it sorts itself out with a re-boot.

I’m glad your computer is over it’s depression. LOL!

Well, that’s good. It gives me hope about my own computer which started acting up again, yesterday.

Pat
December 20, 2006

My speakers did that one time. I’m glad that it wasn’t anything more serious.

December 20, 2006

ryn–good advice. you’re right. better to get up and get moving and make it up the next night. it doesn’t work to oversleep like that. i feel like a zombie in the morning.

December 20, 2006

Guess the computer needed a little “me” time.

December 20, 2006

Wonderful! I’m so glad to hear it.

December 20, 2006

Yes, computers are definitely living devices with minds of their own. They’re resistant to change, apparently, which is why yours was pouting yesterday. Glad it’s operational today.

December 20, 2006

Its uncanny how computers seem to have their good days and bad days.

December 20, 2006

Just FYI….computers are MALE. THAT should explain everything, don’t you think? Glad it decided to cooperate! Love to you! ~M

Shi
December 20, 2006
December 20, 2006

Why is that when the computer doesn’t work we find things to do but when it is working we procrastinate doing those things? I am exactly the same way. I promise after the holiday I will start cleaning this place more and spend less time on the computer. LOL

December 20, 2006

I’ve seen that happen before. Sometimes, stuff just starts working again, without doing anything. It’s strange.

I’m glad it’s working again for you!!! Technology works in mysterious ways…

December 20, 2006

I think that computers have multiple personalities! 🙂 – – – –

December 20, 2006

I call it gremlins. But pouting is a good alternative.

December 31, 2006

I get more done when not on the puter too but I think a mix of other things & puter time is a must for me.