Afternoon

I cleaned the residual snow off my car this morning and the most trouble was getting the ice out from around the wipers. Since it was raining by then, I felt I should probably get this done before heading out! I felt quite brave and adventurous actually getting out on the interstate today with freezing rain falling! Well, actually, by the time I got out of physical therapy, it proved to be just cold rain.

Physical therapy was mostly an evaluation day. This happens once a monrh because Medicare has to have evaluation in order to continue paying for this. I actually quite enjoy the evaluation now because even *I* can see improvement, For example, I can now lie on my right side and lift my left leg against gravity. Long-time readers may remember how depressed I was that I couldn’t do this a few months ago. And this morning as I was doing the push-with-one-leg on the reformer, I realized that I really didn’t need to hold my arms across my abdomen any more. I was doing this originally to make sure I was not curving my back up and pushing from there instead of my hip muscles. I did that a lot in the beginning. But this morning for the first time I realized that my back was flat and I wasn’t using it to help me push.

After the PT was over, I drove out to the Kia place to get my state safety sticker which had gone up to another five dollars to $30 since last year. Oh, and an additional five dollars for labor which is actually the onerous task of attaching the car to the computer that does all the work! Still, as I tell myself, only once a year. I asked about the automatic starters but they don’t do it there. I guess I will muddle along without it. I had, fortunately, brought a book with me {The Legacy of Gird by Elizabeth Moon} since I had to wait for almost an hour to get my car back, and, yes, I had made an appointment.  Right before I left, I discovered the the woman sitting across from me in the waiting room was also from England, I didn’t have much time to talk to her because my car was ready then, but I did learn she was from Birmingham. {I am from Nottingham–me and Robin Hood,}

As I mentioned before, by this time the rain was just plain rain rather than freezing rain, but what was a bit disconcerting was sudden big gusts of wind. I got a bagel and cream cheese for lunch and then drove home. I can hear the wind banging around the house even as I write.

Tomorrow morning, I will finish the little bit of homework I still have to do and then go into the college for the Italian class in the afternoon.

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

None will improve your lot If you yourself do not.

Bertolt Brecht, 1933

Log in to write a note

I’m glad that you are having so much improvement in what you can do physically now.

March 3, 2008

May I ask what brought you to the states from England?

Shi
March 3, 2008

Glad to hear that you are still improving. E seemed to hit a standstill and then never progressed anymore. Of course, I think that some of his is related to the diabetic neuropathy. To bad you didn’t find out about the other customer sooner. I’m sure you two could have had a great chat! Hugs, M

March 3, 2008

It makes you feel so much better when you can see bits of improvement as you go along. It does me. Blessings. I am hoping for spring soon. We are to get another storm this Friday and rain until then. We are southern New England. I saw the sun today.

I got my starter at a car audio place. The two that I’ve heard advertisements for up your way are here. Yipes is actually in Plattsburgh, but their prices are comparable/lower than what we paid, and they’ve been in business a long time. They have a few other stores, though, so maybe one is closer to you? http://yipesauto.com/yipes/astrostart.php and http://greatnorthernstereo.com/

March 3, 2008

It’s always fun to note improvments…shows that you are moving forward, as always! Way to go!

You ARE brave, driving on the interstate in that weather. Goodness, getting that car inspection is expensive. We don’t have to have that in Michigan.

I love realizing that I’ve made progress. You are doing so well!!!! Yea! =)

March 3, 2008

It’s too bad the Kia place doesn’t do automatic starters. Those would be VERY handy, up there in cold Vermont! hugs, Weesprite

March 4, 2008

good to hear you are seeing improvement yourself. thought we were gonna have freezing rain tomorrow morning, wednesday, but now the weathermen are saying it’s just gonna be rain. but, we’re under a flood watch because of the rain. winter can’t be over soon enough for me. take care,

March 4, 2008

That is terrific about the improvement. I’ve read so much about everyone having difficulties with their vehicles, in a way it makes me happy that I don’t drive, but I also envy all of you having an option of getting about.

I live near Birmingham!…. Alabama. Not quite England. 😉

I should think you could tell she was from Birmingham as soon as she spoke. It’s such a distinctive accent. 🙂

RYN: I totally agree with you. I do not think that love is earned.

March 5, 2008

RYN. Alex went to a “special” school afternoons in her first year at school, but was put back in mainstream last year. I think because of funding the pupil has to have far worse problems than alex to get help. I think she does go to the learning support teacher at this school for a short time every week though.

March 5, 2008

I saw your note in anne,awakening’s diary and have to ask where you taught in Mississippi? You sound like the type of teacher that ones like me look up too – determined and strong. This is only my second year and I hope that I stay as excited about it 30 years from now as I do right now.