Afternoon Entry

I went downtown this morning and had a great time. I found my drawing pad and my notebook–which I hadn’t even realized I had lost–in the storage cupboard of the classroom where the classes have been held for the last six weeks. So, that was a very good thing.

Then I went round to the front of the building to ask my questions about signing up for a new class. Just as I got there, the girl at the desk got up and left and a young man took her place!  Boy, was *I* lucky! He was wonderful, knew the answer to everything I asked and solved all my problems. The best thing he told me was that I could sign up on line on or after July 5th and PAY ON LINE! Now, I know this seems axiomatic, right? But last time I signed up on line {for an online class actually} I had to go to their office and stand in line for hours and hours to give them my money! He also told me what my student ID number was, and that I could actually check on line to see if my class was going to make or not!

So, next I went and had a slice of pizza  and a salad {with bleu-cheese dressing on the side} in air-conditioned comfort  and wandered through the mall. Finally, I went to the art shop and got myself some charcoal pencils, a pad of unbleached paper which is a nice cream color, waterproof ink so I can try a wash when I do ink, nib cleaner, which, I am embarrassed to admit my nibs really need,  a couple of drawing pencils and, yet another kneaded eraser. When I left class yesterday I was finished about 30 minutes before the end of the period.  I left three pencils and a chunk of kneaded eraser with Francis, one of the students in the class because, yet again,  he didn’t bring his supplies! He said he would leave them with Jean and I could pick them up when I pick up my final grade and the picture of my sister on July 7th, but I am not going to bet money that he will return them .  And if he does, well, one cannot  have too many pencils, right?

I got home just in time to hear the news that Melanie’s {our pregnant landlady} water had broken and they {she, her mother and her husband} were off to the hospital to meet her midwife. So, we hope Greta, their new daughter,  will arrive today, on Fred’s birthday.

Until later…

Log in to write a note
July 1, 2005

Sounds like a very productive day. It’s cooled down substantially here… I hope you’re getting some of the same relief we are. It’s breezy and lovely out. I leave soon to go home! I hope it’s as cool there, although we have air conditioning there. 🙂 Have a great day celebrating Fred’s birthday!

July 1, 2005

Happy Birthday, Fred!

July 1, 2005

Wishing Fred a year of good health, as he already has good cheer and you!

Happy Birthday to Fred!! Have fun with your drawing 🙂

July 1, 2005

What a treat it will be to have a new baby “in the house”. And with the same birthday as Fred! Who’s the guy in the picture? Maybe I need to go back to a prior entry and find out.

July 1, 2005

Happy birthday to Fred, and good luck to the new family!

Shi
July 1, 2005

Wow, that would be lovely to have her arrive on Fred’s birthday. Here’s to a safe, wonderful delivery and health to the whole family.

July 1, 2005

Wow, it’s time for your landlady to have her baby already???? That went quick!!!! Or maybe it feels that way cause it’s not ME!!!!!!!! Hope she has her today!!!!!!!!!!!

July 1, 2005

will have to go wish fred a happy birthday. glad you found the stuff you had left in the classroom. a cooler day here but still humid. i’m looking forward the lower humidity of the next 3 days! take care,

July 1, 2005

And a Happy Birthday to Fred! Will you make him some special Birthday Bread? Or maybe gingerbread. Best wishes to the newest Land-child.

July 1, 2005

Oh a new baby – I’m jealous! Will you be offering to babysit do you think?

July 1, 2005

Wow, you got a lot done and I am so glad someone who could answer all your questions was available. I tell you more and more people are turning to the net for things and companies are finally getting smart and allowing them to find what they need and to pay for it. I doubt Francis will leave the supplies too, but you never know. Very few of the students who borrowed pens/pencils frome me ever did.