Amazon’s Suggestions

I have a set of measuring cups which I basically use only for bread making. They reside in the container where I keep the flour. If I have to measure anything else, I either I either eyeball it {NOT a good choice} or dig the measuring cup out of the flour and have to clean it up. So, I ordered another set {in red} from Amazon. They came and I used them and love them but now Amazon is inundating me with suggestions about measuring cup in different colors or in metal! It always amuses me to see what they suggest but really, these measuring cups and spoons suggestions are getting to be a bit much! And, yes, you don’t need to tell me how to get rid of them, I know, and I did it this evening. I guess I was hoping the suggestions would go away by themselves!

More breaking down of boxes ensued today since trash pickup is tomorrow. You may be wondering why I have so many boxes? Well, it is because I tend to stack and horde the ones I think I might have some use for. This means they pile up under what used to be Fred’s table. I have just finished buying secondhand {and thus cheap} paperback copies of the few book group books that are not on the Kindle, and, although I will never use these small flat boxes again, I keep thinking I might! Anyway, the space under the table is looking a lot better, although not completely emptied as yet.

I finally got an email sent to my younger son re my visit to NC which happens on September 5th so that he knows when to pick me up. I am working on my packing list which has to be done from scratch since the original one was about two computers ago! I was really surprised to think about how long it has been since I went anywhere that wasn’t to the grocery store or the pharmacy!  Thinking about my calendar, I need to write down the massage for the last Sunday in this month. I was supposed to go yesterday but had to cancel since I had, in addition to the yeast infection, definite signs that it would be a Good Thing to stay close by my own bathroom!

Ok, it is time for me to head into the bedroom. First I have to make sure all door are locked which is something I always used to leave for Fred to do. Hope everyone on this side of the world has a good night.

Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers)

 

You are not happy because you are well. You are well because you are

happy. You are not depressed because trouble has come to you, but

trouble has come to you because you are depressed. You can change

your thoughts and feelings, and then the outer things will come to

correspond, and indeed there is no other way of working.

— Emmet Fox

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 20, 2012

I’ve noticed that Amazon does, that, too. Every time I brows for something, I get emails from them. Now that I’ve placed an actual order, heaven help me!

August 20, 2012

amazon is nuts. they want to sell me a whole nother page of toaster ovens. i really only need the one…

August 20, 2012

My hubby used to keep the boxes from all the appliances etc. I finally convinced him to get rid of all of them. Take care.

I get very tired of Amazon’s suggestions – and Staples- and Toshiba- and HP- and …

August 20, 2012

It’s comical, Amazon recommending so many measuring cups to you. How many measuring cups do they think one person needs to have, anyway? :o) !! I used to keep all boxes, thinking they might be just the right size I’d need for wrapping Christmas presents in. Or anything electronic we’d buy, Joe would say we should keep the box “in case something’s wrong with it and we have to send it back.” I just threw away the box my new laptop came in, which had been in the living room since Christmas. I sure hope we don’t end up needing to send it back!! hugs, Nicky

August 20, 2012

Amazon can be really annoying. I looked at cameras about a year ago and am still getting suggestions for them! I looked for a bench for Areasha, and now I’m being inundated with pictures of benches all the time!

What is it about boxes?Awkward to dispose of and yet never around when one needs one.

August 21, 2012

I buy so many books that Amazon is always recommending something to me. Bought some nightgowns this summer, now they show me every darn one they have.

I keep the boxes, too. Thank God for the basement!

August 21, 2012

It’s funny when sites like that make those suggestions over a practical necessity that you just need one of although I have found it useful when they say ‘you last looked at’ on ebay or suchlike or ‘you might be interested in’ – great for going off on a tangent somewhere so that you forget what you actually went to the site for in the first place!

August 21, 2012

love my boxes!! one of these days i’m going to have to go to the basement and break them all down and get rid of them. raymond used to lock the doors before we went to bed. it’s been my job for a little over 4 years now and i still miss him doing it. take care,

August 21, 2012

I think I can get all I would ever want to keep in about 7 or 8 boxes. I can buy these new for 30 bucks. I just keep the 30 dollars handy. hahahaha be well; peace…dan

I wonder why Amazon does that…just in case you feel the need to have a blue set of measuring cups, or a small metal set? It makes me laugh, some of the suggestions they come up with..it is like, “how does THAT go along with the choice I just made??”

August 21, 2012
August 21, 2012

I do the same thing with boxes. You have motivated me to get rid of them.

August 22, 2012

Amazon really, really loves their consumerism. You like measuring spoons? Here, have 5 pages of them! And other kitchen supplies! And maybe a tent?

August 22, 2012

I don’t appreciate it much when shopping sites like Amazonn suggest other items for you to buy. Apart from the fact that I don’t think their suggestions have ever led me to purchase anything, it’s annoying that people that use those sites after you on the same computer know what you’ve been buying…not helpful when it’s birthday / Christmas gifts. 🙁

I want red measuring cups, they sound so fun.