Back to the Usual Routine

My body seems to have settled down with enough sleep since I woke up at 6:30 this morning which is my usual time–give or take 30 minutes either way. What has NOT adapted to EST is my stomach. I keep needing food at very odd hours and when I check the time, it is Lucca lunch or dinner time!

Talking about food. I weighed myself this morning, and despite pizzas, lots of different pasta and especially foccacio bread, I have not gained a single pound in the six weeks I was away. If anything, I may have lost a pound or two! {I say "may" because I don’t remember to the pound what I was when I left.} And, of course, I KNOW why. It was the walking. And the stairs… Let’s not forget the 52 steps to get to the apartment and the 47 steps to get to the classroom! Most days I walked up and down the apartment stairs twice since I usually came back after lunch to unload my backpack before I went out again.

I have emptied and put away stuff from one of the two bags I brought home, the smaller one. I plan to start on the bigger one today. The main big job I have to do is laundry. I still have to open the big box that got home before I did although the vendor said four weeks. In it is a bowl and and a oil and vinegar set decorated with Tuscany sunflowers for our house. There is also a little something for the houses of my two kids. I am about half-way through checking my snail mail which Fred kindly put in a box on my desk.

And before I start any of these, it is time for a walk!

There will be pictures in a while too–although not today. Laundry HAS to be done…my underwear drawer is looking remarkably empty….

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

If you have the courage to begin, you have the courage to succeed.

— David Viscott

Log in to write a note
October 29, 2007

those quotes you keep at the end of your entries are great. wow – that’s a lot of stairs.. and i think i’m about to go do some laundry too. blah to doing laundry!

October 29, 2007

After all those stairs, the hills of Vermont will be a piece of cake! How’s your hip doing? Did you strengthen it a lot doing all that walking? Still using the cane or did you free yourself from it? Clean underwear is important, tho! Get at it, woman! LOL! It’s so nice to have you back!

Oooh, I sooo understand the laundry thing!!!! I managed to get 4 loads done yesterday and will finish the last two today. It’s amazing how many dirty clothes one can come home from a trip with. LOL So glad that you seem to be getting rested up. Hugs, M

October 29, 2007

You sound very energized…I can tell the whole experience was wonderful. I like the Italian style “Stairmaster”.

October 29, 2007

I’m glad you had a wonderful trip. And I’m sure Fred is very happy to have you back!

October 29, 2007

Seems the secret to flying thru customs and homeland security checkpoints is packing lots of dirty underwear!hahaha have fun gal and keep walking, seem like another secret of a life well lived. have fun…dan

October 29, 2007

it is nice to have you back. gotta get that underwear drawer filled back up again! i don’t doubt that you didn’t gain any weight while in lucca with all that walking you did. take care,

October 29, 2007

Welcome home! 😀 Be well,

October 29, 2007

Looking forward to seeing the pictures!

October 29, 2007

I’ve got so much fitter since returning to the Pennine Hills. The steepness of the walks around here would challenge anyone.

October 29, 2007

52 steps is a LOT! In fact…. 47 steps is a lot! :o) !! I take my time about unpacking from a trip too…but not about laundry, cuz like you said….underwear drawers, especially, can get amazingly empty! I hope you had a lovely walk today. hugs, Weesprite

October 29, 2007

Great to have you back. Can’t wait to see you at Holiday time and here stories first hand

October 29, 2007

Welcome home! Looking forward to pictures, whenever it’s convenient for you of course. 😀

October 29, 2007

You have adjusted well to the time change. So glad you are back home safe. I enjoy your diary so much. Can’t wait to hear about all the adventures.

October 29, 2007

Ooo, pictures of the sunflowered set please! It is soooo good to arrive here and find a “Patricia” entry waiting…. I’ve missed that. And listen to you! A walk!!!! How far you’ve come! Brava!!!!! Love to you! ~M

Pat
October 29, 2007

Yep, I’m sure the walking and stairs are what helped. Isn’t that nice that you were able to enjoy the food so much and yet not gain any weight! (((Hugs)))

October 29, 2007

Welcome home. That’s awesome that you didn’t gain any weight.

Walking does wonders! =)

October 30, 2007

There is nothing that inspires more anxiety in me than an empty underwear drawer.

October 30, 2007

Welcome home Patricia! (huggles)

October 30, 2007

ryn: Koontz wrote sci-fi? I thought he always did ghost stories. I wouldn’t call any of the books I’ve currently read “horror.” Maybe they just don’t strike me as scary.

November 3, 2007
November 14, 2008

Home again, home again jiggity jog. Now routine sets in again. Bravo to you for starting your walks again.