There and Back Again*

I am home!

I got into a taxi at 5 am Italian time — six hours ahead of EST} on Saturday. At 5:30 I was at Pisa airport to catch a plane at 7:15 am to Rome. And that was where the problem started because Alitalia had canceled that plane and put me on one that left at 11 am! This wouldn’t work at all because I had connections made to go to Philadelphia and then to Burlington. So, the only thing to do was to buy a ticket to Rome on another airline. Which I did. 91 euros charged to my credit card. I was told that Alitalia would refund this since there was no other plane they had to let me make my connections.

At Rome my next plane left at 11:15. Now, in big airports I have been asking for a wheelchair since I just CAN’T walk long distances so I got a chair and a man to push it. He dropped me off at a waiting room and told me he would be back to take me to the plane later. Lesson learned from this? Next time, ask when! Eleven o’clock came and no sign of him, so I set out walking to find the gate my plane was supposed to leave from. The first problem was that the gates were numbered from 1 to 10 and then 39 to 45! And my gate was 24! Eventually I figured it out. I had to take a train to find the missing gates. I was getting more and more panic-stricken because by the time I got there it was 11 10 and certainly on an American airline there is no way I would be let onto a plane at this time. Fortunately, the plane was running 45 minutes late so I did make that plane.

Nine sleepless hours later,  I arrived in Philadelphia. Now since I have done this kind of trip before, I knew that coming into America from overseas, one has to claim baggage {never mind that it is ticketed all the way through to wherever one is going} take it to another place. and check it in all over again. But before that, there are the long long lines at Customs. Having done this before, I asked for a wheelchair and a very nice man took me all the way through this and got me on a little electric cart which deposited me at my destination gate. I was so happy I didn’t have to walk though this that I over-tipped him but, believe me, he was worth what I gave him to not have to limp laboriously through these huge distances. Oh, and my metal hip set off  the buzzer! Since I was in a wheelchair, she accepted my excuse that I had a metal hip! But I was still patted down!  The plane coming in from Rome was an hour late taking off but since I had five hours {now reduced to three and a half hours} wait, I didn’t care!

The plane from Philadelphia was also an hour or so late taking off. At one point, there were two men with "Mechanic" on the back of their coveralls talking to the pilot…NOT a Good Sign! By this time, I was so exhausted, I slept for about 20 minutes on this  one hour trip from Philadelphia to Burlington. When I got to Burlington, there was a message from Fred for me to take a cab home! He HAD come to the airport but all the planes were so late, he decided to go home and let me get a cab.

I had a terrific night’s sleep and here I am home!

*If you have ever read The Hobbit, you will know that this is the subtitle of this book. I thought it was appropriate since right before I left, I bought myself a copy if The Hobbit  in Italian! {Yes, I DO have it in English!}

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

If you have the courage to begin, you have the courage to succeed.

— David Viscott

Log in to write a note
October 28, 2007

Welcome home!!!!! Looking forward to reading all the details and seeing pictures. 🙂

October 28, 2007

welcome home!!! have missed you!! i’m sure it was great to be back home to fred and your own bed and place. what a difficult time you had getting home. take care,

October 28, 2007

EEEEEEE!!! Welcome back! Geez, we missed you! Can’t wait to hear about your adventures since you wrote last. Sorry that getting home was such a pain, but at least you arrived safe and sound! Big “Welcome Home” Hugs,

October 28, 2007

I AM SO GLAD YOU ARE HOME! :o) !! But my, what an adventure you had at the airports…. whew. I am worn out just reading that someone else had to do all that! :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

Pat
October 28, 2007

WELCOME HOME!!! I am so happy you made it back safe and sound. I’m sure you’re glad to be home sweet home. Get lots of rest the next few days. (((Hugs))) Pat

Welcome home! I knew you’d be here soon 🙂

October 28, 2007

Welcome home!!!!

October 28, 2007

Planes from Philadelphia ALWAYS seem to be delayed. I try to avoid that airport at all costs. Good to have you back. I’ll be in Lucca for New Years’ as it turns out.

October 28, 2007

🙂 – – – –

YAY! Welcome home! It sounds like you had what is (sadly) becoming a normal travel experience. I’m still just SO impressed that you were able to just up and go. I remember how terrified I was when I went to Germany and had to survive in German, and I’d already been studying it for five years at that time. I hope we’ll get ot see pictures???

October 28, 2007

Gosh that was a marathon journey to get you home! Looking forward to reading all about your adventures. 😉

October 28, 2007

Welcome Home! You have such patience to deal with all that AND have a positive attitude about it. I would have cussed the whole time. LOL! Glad you made it home safely.

October 28, 2007

Wow, you are home already. I was just thinking it was this week you would be home. But thought more towards the end of the month. Welcome home, I can’t wait to hear all about your trip. It sounds like a lovely place to visit. I am pretty sure Fred is glad to have you home. We have missed you. The trip home sounded long. I am not one for long flights. I get to anxious.

October 28, 2007

Yay!!!!!!!! I was just thinking yesterday that it was about time for you to come home! I’m so glad you got to make the trip, and I can’t wait to hear more… I’m betting Fred is one Happy Camper!!!!!! Love to you! ~M

October 28, 2007

I am glad that you are back safe and sound. I have enjoyed reading your adventures. It sounds like you had a lot of fun. I enjoy looking at churches too. They are so full of the history of the people. Take care. Can’t wait to read more. Blessings

October 28, 2007

welcome home. what an adventure you’ve had. goodness!!!

October 28, 2007

welcome home!!

Welcome back! After that gruesome trip you will need a long rest.

October 28, 2007

I’m so glad to see your name lit up in bold. I can’t wait to hear about your experiences!

October 28, 2007

Glad you’re back. Hope you enjoyed yourself on the trip. 🙂

Although your adventure, I’m sure, was exciting, I’m also sure you are glad to be back on your own turf. Welcome Home!

Welcome back home! I can’t wait to see the pictures you took!

October 28, 2007

*huggs*

Welcome home!! Glad you made it safely. My plane left late from Philly yesterday too. When we finally di start taxiing I saw firetrucks, a police car, and an ambulance on the tarmac. Not a good sign! So glad that you got a good nights sleep last night!! Hugs, M

October 28, 2007

Glad you are home safe and sound. Hope to see some pictrues and hear more about your trip. Was it wonderful as you expected?

October 28, 2007

WELCOME HOME, world traveller!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 {{{{{{{{{{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}!!!

Welcome back! =) Ah, sleeping in your own bed must feel like a little bit of Heaven.

October 28, 2007

Good for you, have fun in the morning…dan

October 28, 2007

I am so happy to hear that you got home safely. Welcome home, and may you have some long uninterrupted sleep!

October 29, 2007

Sounds as though you had a terrible journey back! I hope the jet lag isn’t too bad! Have a nice long sleep.

October 29, 2007

Welcome back! And I don’t envy you with the travel issues at all. I remember those sooo well.

October 29, 2007

Everyone else has already said it, but welcome home. Am looking forward to more details on your trip. Where do you get your energy?

Benvenuto!!!! Glad that you had a good trip – even if the return was something difficult. Well done you!

I’m glad you made it home safely. I bet Fred is very glad to have you home 🙂

If Philadelphia airport is bad, try Chicago. We were stranded overnight in that airport in February. Glad you had good wheelchair help.

November 14, 2008

Exhaustion I’m sure set in. I’m also sure you were happy to have made it home when you finally did. I can’t wait to see your pictures. Welcome Home.