From England

I am here after a horrid journey. Well, actually the journey itself was fine. It was waiting to get on the plane that was horrid. Because of having to change the time I flew, I had a five-hour layover in Newark. By the time the plane from Newark to Burlington  {EDIT: Ummm, change that Burlington to Bristol, UK  and thank you, Fred for catching that } actually did fly out, it had turned into a six and a half hour layover! I did manage to sleep for a couple of hours on the plane and managed to make my way through the stuff one has to do to get out of the airport. The cab driver was right there holding up my name and an hour later, I was at my sister’s house.

Fred has quoted a bit of my email so I won’t go through all of it again but I will say how thankful I was that my BIL had called and prepared me for what I would see. My sister sleeps a lot but she seems quite lively when she is awake. As Fred has commented, she is very well looked after and she seems to like and be comfortable with the nursing care she is getting. One nurse comes in every day and either gives her a bed bath or just a face and hands wash and she is asked which she wants. I think that is treating her like a human being and not just a "patient."

This morning I went with my nephew Toby into the local town to buy groceries. It is, my BIL says, very helpful having Toby there because, among many other things, he can lift Robbie when neither my BIL not I can. Incidentally, I got it wrong when I said there is a nurse that sits with her every night. This only happens one night a week and on the other six nights, my BIL looks after her. He says that he can count on one good night’s sleep a week. It is very stressful for him and he does very well, I think. He had Parkinson’s and, of course, stress is one of the worst things for this disease. However, he was telling me that there is a nurse who comes in soley to see him once a week. She is trained in working with people with Parkinson’s and she checks to see if his medications need renewing and how he is doing.

He just called me for lunch–more later…

Log in to write a note

I’m glad you’re there in one piece. Sorry about the rough journey, though.

July 16, 2005

Sounds like you arrived with a load of stress already firmly in place. I’m glad that your sister is getting the care she needs. With you there, maybe the BIL can get more than one good night’s sleep per week. What a tough time.

hello, i just dropped by your diary and noticed you have a sick sister and Bil too.I don’t know if you are interested, but you might like to read an entry in my diary.It is called,”An Amazing tale to tell.You need to read all of though to get the full inpact. bye bye,

July 16, 2005

so glad you got there all safe and sound. good to hear your sister is getting the care she needs at this time. i’m sure the stress is getting to your bil but he sounds like a good man taking care of your sister like he does. take care,

July 16, 2005

In the first paragraph,the plane left Newark to fly to Bristol, England, not Burlington…. I’m sure Patricia will see that error and correct it…

The layover sounds gruesome. Thank goodness the taxi service was able to coordinate with your new travel schedule. Well Patricia, I know it is rough seeing your sister so ill. I hope you and she have a good visit, though.

July 16, 2005

{{HUGS,}}}

July 16, 2005

I’m so glad you made it safely, although I can sympathize about the long delays. Traveling can be rough. I hope your visit will go well. Enjoy your time with your sister. I’m sending good thoughts.

July 16, 2005

All of you are in my thoughts! 🙂 Miss you! Be well,

July 16, 2005

Once I knew you’d made it in one piece, I relaxed… Sorry about the layover…that’s horrid! At least you’re there, now. Love and hugs to you! ~M

July 16, 2005

Yikes that’s a long lay-over. I’m so glad that you are getting this time with your sister and BIL. May this time be a blessing for all of you.

July 16, 2005

I am glad you got there safely.

Lousy layovers not withstanding glad you made it there safe and sound.

July 16, 2005

Okay, 1. I am glad you got there okay; 2. Take it one day at a time with your sister. this has to be a shock to see her so differently than than the last time you saw her. so take a deep breathe and ONE DAY AT A TIME. I am also glad that Toby is there to help you. Hugs, and even more HUGS. r

July 16, 2005

I’m glad you had a safe journey too. I’m glad that you get to see your sister.

July 18, 2005

I’m glad you made it there in one piece, and that your sister is being well cared for… (huggles)