Goodbye to my Brother-in-Law

This evening I got a phone call from England from my nephew. My brother-in-law died on Tuesday. He was in his eighties. He went to sleep and never woke up. He had Parkinsons and had slowly been going downhill.

He had some money transferred into my account for me to spend in Italy. Before I went into hospital, I called him and told him it had arrived and thanked him. I told him I would use it to buy something that reminded me of him.

I am glad that since my sister died I have made the effort to write to him regularly and send it snail mail. He usually called me when the letters arrived and we talked about things that were on his mind. Last time I talked, he sounded very tired and his speech was slurred. He told me that he and his son were getting on a lot better lately and I mentioned this to Toby.

He HATED being in hospital so I am glad he died in his own bed in his own home.

If there IS an afterlife, I like to think that he and my sister, married for over 40 years, are together again.

QUOTATION: If you have the courage to begin, you have the courage to succeed.

— David Viscott

Log in to write a note
June 28, 2007

I’m sorry. I’m sure they are together somewhere. {{{{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}}}

June 28, 2007

I’m so sorry to hear this.

June 28, 2007

Oh, I’m sorry! I’m sure they are together, and happy. I’m glad you stayed in close contact with him. Hugs,

June 28, 2007
June 28, 2007
June 28, 2007

I’m sorry to hear this news, but I too am sure that he and your sister are together again.

Please accept my deepest sympathies. You did the right thing keeping in touch with him.

June 28, 2007

*hugs*.. I take comfort in the what ifs when it comes to the afterlife, even if I don’t totally believe it…

I’m so sorry to hear this. I’ve no doubt that he and your sister are together once again (((Hugs)))

June 28, 2007

I am so sorry about this.

June 28, 2007

Sorry to hear about the brother-in-law. I am sure he is with your sister. On another note, I am very glad to see you home and improving. Hopefully you will get one of those nice things to put on the front of a walker to hold things you can’t carry.

I’m sorry to hear about your loss. It’s so nice that you have been in regular contact with him, and you will have special reason to think about him when you are in Italy. I’m glad, too, that he was able to pass from this life, comfortable in his own bed, rather than in the hospital.

June 28, 2007

My deepest sympathies. I am glad he had the chance to pass where he would have like to. I’m sure he chose it that way.

I’m very sorry. I remember the picture you did of your brother in law and admired it. It doesn’t matter how old the person is it’s still hard to loose such a close friend. Take care,

June 28, 2007

If you have to go, you can’t go much better than that!

June 28, 2007

What a shock….I am so sorry 🙁

June 28, 2007

I’m sorry for your loss.

I rejoice with his soul in it’s newfound freedom…. All my best, darlin’…

June 28, 2007

Sorry to read about your loss.

Oh Patricia! I’m so sorry!

June 28, 2007

A long life. I can only hope for that for myself. My fear, though, is going so far downhill that my quality of life sucks.

June 28, 2007

I am so sorry for your loss.

He was a good man. (((hugs)))

June 28, 2007

I’m sorry for your loss… I’m sure he is with your sister.

June 28, 2007

I’m so sorry for your loss Patricia. I’m sure that your sister and brother in law are now together again and happy. Hugs, M

Pat
June 28, 2007

I’m very sorry for your loss, Patrisha. I agree…your sister and your BIL are probably together again.

oh patricia.? i’m sorry, and i’m even sorrier that this has happened at this time.I’m glad that his parting was peaceful though and I do believe in after-life and that they will be together again. I’m also sure that he will have appreciated your efforts to keep in touch.

I’m sure they are. (((hugs)))

June 29, 2007

It sounds like he appreciated the effort you made to stay in touch after your sister died, including your trip there. As you say, at least he went peacefully in his own sleep, there can be no better reward for a long and fruitful life than that.

June 29, 2007

I’m so glad he passed peacefully in his sleep and does not have to live any longer with his illness. I’m sure his spirit is happy and free now! hugs, Weesprite

June 29, 2007

Thinking of you and Fred in your loss.

I’m sorry about your loss. At least you have a positive memory of the recent events and you helped his son.

June 29, 2007

My deepest condolences, Patricia. I know how fond you both were of each other, and I’m sure your letters and phone chats with him brightened his life considerably. frank

June 29, 2007

I am so sorry – but I also believe that they are together again, now. {{{{HUGS}}}},

June 29, 2007

i am sorry to hear this but i am sure your bil and your sister are together again. i’m glad you got to talk with him before it happened. it’s a good thing he went in his sleep. since i have to die one day, i’m putting in my order to go in my sleep like he did. take care,

June 29, 2007

Sorry to hear about you BIL. Do you have any other ties to England? He and your sister were the only ones I remember hearing about.

June 29, 2007

Sorry to read about the passing of your brother-in-law. Stopping by to say thank you for your kind note. Love the quotation…take care!

June 29, 2007

I am so sorry to hear this. Many hugs, and I do hope you’re right about them being together again.

June 29, 2007

I’m so very sorry to read this. *HUGS* I know your sister is happy to have him with her again.

June 29, 2007

I’m sorry to hear about the deathof your brother in law. He sounds like a fine chap. Sending you money for you to spend in Italy. A very nice gesture. Ryn about Sasson. Yes, while he did a good deal of writing, I think he is primarily know for his WWI wartime poetry. I remember studying him in high school English literature class. I tried to find some of his stuff in my limited library at home. I found three of his poems, one about the war called “Base Details”. I, at first, intended to copy it out here in this note. But since it was 10 lines long, I chickened out. Please forgive me. However, I’m sure you would know it.

June 29, 2007

Please put another “o” in Sassoon, above. Always in a hurry. The story of my life.

I’m sure that he rests, peaceflly and well, in the Summerlands. blessed Be.

June 29, 2007

That is so sad. I remember you always talking about him. They say when one spouse dies the other usually follows within 6 months. I know it is getting close to the Anniversary date of your sister. I too imagine them both together. I am so sorry to hear this, it comes as a big surprise.

June 30, 2007

Parkinsons is so awful in its later stages. No wonder he sounded tired. RYN: The web address below will take you to a painting I’ve still got for sale. Much of my painted work can be seen on my Flickr site there. http://www.flickr.com/photos/darryltoon/354129705/in/set-72157594390188238/

June 30, 2007

I am sorry to hear of your loss. *huggs*

June 30, 2007

You can trust they are. They may come and visit you. You will find something where neither or you put it. Small things so as not to frighten you. I am sorry for your loss.

July 7, 2007

I’m so sorry Patrisha – it was very poignant reading in your last entry that you had just written to him then reading this one saying he had died. I was so glad when I looked at the dates & realised he would have got the letter. I’m sure he’s met up with your sister & they’re together again.

I am so sorry to hear that! Your family will be in my thoughts and prayers.