More About Me

I think I have done this survey before but it is a good excuse to procrastinate on boiling milk to make yogurt.!

1. What was the highlight of your week?
 Yesterday I managed to do my physical therapy exercises at a high level for 45 minutes.  After that, I drove to the supermarket and picked up a couple of things we needed. To put this in perspective, the physical therapy session the day before was low level energy and 30 minutes exhausted me.
.
2. Whose car were you in last?
My little paid-off Kia Rio! I was going to physical therapy and then to the grocery store.
.
3. When is the next time you will kiss someone?
I will kiss Fred before I go to bed tonight.

4. What color shirt are you wearing?
A black high-necked sweater from Marks and Spensers. It used to belong to my sister and when she died, my brother-in-law saved all her sweaters for me, which was much appreciated.

5. How long is your hair?
Very short, the way I like it.

6. Are you good looking?
My face has never broken a mirror yet!

7. Last movie you watched?
At the moment I am on a Star Trek: Voyager watching jag and enjoying it very much.

8. Who were you with?
Myself. Fred doesn’t like what he calls “stories.”

9. Last thing you ate?
Breakfast was two small slices of toast with Marmite, a banana and a BIG cup of coffee with milk and no sugar.

10. Last thing you drank?
A big cup of coffee.

11. When was the last time you had your heart broken?
 It was so long ago I can’t remember.  I’ve long since gotten over it.

12. Who came over last?
Hmmm, I can’t remember. Fred and I are solitary by nature. Oh, yes, It was the two children from next door collecting money for the American Heart Association.

13. Are you happy right now?
Yes, I am.

14. What did you say last?
I said, “Oh, good!” to Fred when he told me who won in the hockey game he was watching last night.

15. Where is your phone?
The landline phone is next to my monitor. My cell phone is in my purse, which is hanging on the doorknob.

16. What color are your eyes?
Grey-blue

17. Are you left-handed?
No, but I have a left-handed son.

18. Spell your name without vowels:
Ptrc Mrgrt Mchel Wltrs

19. Do you have any pets?
No.

20. Favorite Vacation?
I like traveling.

21. What do you dislike currently?
Very little. It is a waste of energy to think about things I dislike.

22. What are you listening to?
Well, I would have said nothing but the phone just rang so I was listening to my instructions on the machine. The phone is ALWAYS answered by the clever machine, which has an English accent. {Because I do} It is amazing how many times Mr. Nobody calls us!

23. If you could have one thing right now what would it be?
Freedom from my aches and pains. But, this will pass…

24. What is your favorite scent?
Home made bread baking.

25. Who makes you happiest?
I am responsible for my own happiness.

26. What were you doing at midnight last night?
Sleeping.

27. When is your birthday?
In May.

28. Who has the same phone as you?
Actually, the landline is in Fred’s name. My cell phone is in my name.

29. Last time you went swimming in a pool?
Quite a long time ago.

30. Do you read your horoscope?
No.

31. Where was the last place you bought something?
At the supermarket yesterday. I bought milk and light cream.

32. How do you feel about your hair right now?
I had it cut last week and I like it short. Colorwise, it is at that annoying stage of turning silver where it appears a dusty brown. The parts that ARE silver, I love!

33. Do you bite your nails?
No, not now. But as a child I was a bad nail biter.

34. Do you have any expensive jewelry?
Yes.
 
35. What is the expensive jewelry?
I have a lovely pair of earrings and a necklace that Fred bought me. I also have some equally pretty stuff that he bought me that was not expensive. I have a LOT of turquoise, which my sister left to me and some of it is very expensive. Next time I go to England I will take it back and give it to Tabitha, her daughter.

36. MySpace or Facebook?
Neither.

37. How fast have you driven a car?
I have never been a fast driver.

38. Have you ever smoked?
My father was a heavy smoker and he died of cancer in his middle forties. I tried it as a teenager but it made me dizzy and nauseated so those two cigarettes are the only ones I have ever smoked.

39. What was your favorite subject in school?
English and art. And those are the two subjects I taught during my teaching career.

40. Do you have Verizon?
Yes.

41. Something random about you:
I read and watch science fiction.

42. Do you have any hidden talents?
I am good at organizing. .

43. Favorite Song?
Too many to mention but Leonard Cohen heads the list.

44. Do you like to sing at all?
I was the only non-music major in my college choir which should tell you something about how much I liked to sing. But singing is a talent that needs constant practice and I don’t do that. I sing when I am by myself in the car. I love to harmonize.

45. Dream Job?
I am retired. I do not dream of jobs!

46. Where does most of your family live?
When my sister and brother-in-law were alive, they lived in Yeovil in England, which is in the “bottom left-hand corner” as my sister used to say. My older son lives in Mississippi. My younger son lives in North Carolina.

47. Are you an only child or do you have siblings?
I had one sister.

48. Would you consider yourself to be spoiled?
It depends on the definition of spoiled. I have everything I need and want, but no one has given it to me. I have worked most of my life to get what I want.

49. What was the first thing you thought when you woke up?
Hmmm, I can’t really remember. Probably something along the lines of “Where the %^%## did I leave my cane!”

51. Know any other languages?
A little French left over from my school day and some Italian which I am working on improving.

52. Ever write a coded message?
No.

53. Have you ever been IN a wedding?
I was in my English niece’s wedding a few years ago. I remember that I couldn’t wear red, which was my original plan because that is what Tabitha, wore. Oh, and my sister and I rented “wedding hats” which were very large and elegant. And the other thing I remember is that I developed a urinary tract infection and had to find a doctor !

54. Do you have any children?
Two grown sons. The older one was born in 1956 and the younger one in 1977. {Yes, I believe in spacing my children. Why do you ask?  } I also have two grandsons and in September, I will have a great grandchild.
 
55. Did you take a nap today?
No. I seldom take naps because it messes up my night’s sleep. Now, Fred is the KING of power naps!

56. Who has the same birthday as you?
I have no idea.

57. Ever met anyone famous before?
No.

58. Do you want to be famous one day?
No.

59. Any Pet Peeves:
Very little bothers me these days. I get slightly annoyed with people who drive around me when I am driving the speed limit.

60. Are you multitasking right now?
No.

61. Do you like Britney Spears?
I have nothing against her. She is irrelevant to my life.

62. What is your least favorite chore?
Cleaning the bathroom.

63. Last place you drove your car?
To physical therapy and to the store yesterday.

64. Ever been out of the country?
Yes. I have been to England many times and to Italy once.
 

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

None will improve your lot If you yourself do not.

Bertolt Brecht, 1933

Log in to write a note
March 22, 2008

I love science fiction, too, and read it almost exclusively right now. Andy and I are solitary people, too.

March 22, 2008

Hi! I bought a yogurt maker a few months ago. Care to share your recipe? Is there a special one with each machine?

March 22, 2008

Ii was wondering if you still had an english accent. I love it, but I do have difficulty getting my brain to adjust to the words sounding different. Even cursing sounds ‘nice’ in british

March 22, 2008

🙂 – – – –

Pat
March 22, 2008

Your older son and I share the same birth year! I love your answer “It is a waste of energy to think about things I dislike.” Isn’t that the truth? I loved reading your answers. (((hugs)))

March 22, 2008

Wow! How patient you are, answering all of that. Your answer to #6 made me laugh. Anyone who’s seen you knows you’re adorable!! I love the scent of baking bread too. I have decided I’m saving my pennies for a new bread machine. I miss mine. Love to you! ~M

March 22, 2008

I thought Marmite was illegal in the U.S. How nice to have your car paid off.

March 22, 2008

I had to look up Verizon!

Shi
March 22, 2008
March 22, 2008

I like getting to know ODers better. Thanks,

Oooooh, I am sooo with you on #24! Mmmmm!!! Happy Easter! Hugs, M

Mmm…. I’m smelling bread baking and drooling at the thought. =)

“She is irrelevant to my life” is such an elegant answer. I not only wish I’d said that, I probably will. 🙂