More Happenings

  • If all goes as planned, I should be back in my apartment tomorrow. Mind you, I am not getting all excited about it. The horrible episode with Virgin Mobile has atrophied a lot of my natural optimism. {And even though Virgin Mobile DID redeem themselves in the end, I still do not totally trust them.} Anyway, I am going back to my apartment today to check my mail and I will go to the office and see the manager while I am there. The manager is a nice guy and has been very helpful.
  • Another reason I am going back to my apartment today is to cut my toenails! I have a small nail cutter on my key chain but it is neither big enough nor strong enough to apply to the toenails.
  • Even if I can go back tomorrow, it will not be until the afternoon because I have physical therapy in the morning. One thing I shall miss when I go back is the fact that the physical therapy place is in the same town where Jake lives and this is only about 15 minutes away.
  • One very big difference I have noticed since I came to live in North Carolina  is that I am doing a LOT more driving and thus spending a lot more money on gas.  Living where I did in Vermont, I could walk pretty much everywhere I needed to go, and thus I filled my gas tank up only once a month and that was only because I don’t like to let it drop below the half-full mark. Yesterday I noticed the gauge was down to the quarter-full mark so I made a special trip out to fill it up. Of course, I won’t be using as much gas once I am through with this physical therapy and no longer have to drive into Raleigh for aqua therapy. But even when the PT is over, I still drive more here than when I was In Vermont.
  • Which brings me to the sad fact that when I went to the aqua therapy last time, I had NO idea where to go and thus by the time I  found the correct building–totally accidentally– my blood pressure was sky high. {This is not a mere figure of speech. The aqua therapist didn’t like the way I looked and actually took it. } I also need to add that that was the first time I had driven in Raleigh, it was raining  AND we had been diverted off the Interstate at a different exit because there was, apparently, a wreck a bit further on. The GPS coped considerably better than I did.  When I go next time–Monday I think–I hope not to be as stressed because I now know where the building is–well, sort of!
  • Jake’s cats, AKA "the knuckleheads," are chasing each other around the house and leaping on and off furniture! Now they are doing the "cat boxing" thing! Rocky mostly starts these episodes. He is a bit of a bully but Nimbus can hold his own. And Nimbus is much smarter. When we brought the then-new cat climber into the house and set it up, Nimbus was the first to figure out how to get up to the top. Now, of course, they both run up the side very swiftly.
  • OK, time to get on with the day and get some breakfast,,,

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 22, 2013

Every time I have to go somewhere I’ve never been (and even a bunch of places I HAVE been, but can’t remember how to get there) I haul out the GPS and thank the Lord above that I have it! It has saved my sanity (and blood pressure) countless times! Love love love it!

I hate going somewhere I’ve never been for the first time…stresses the hell out of me. Glad you found it, and can return stress free! I hope you get to go back to your apartment:)

May 22, 2013

i do not like to go anywhere new. it scares me. i need a gps or at least a phone that has one. i usually head to google maps and print out instructions. take care,

May 22, 2013

I agree with the above noters. I need that GPS and feel thankful for it everytime I have to drive somewhere new. I think you are a very brave woman!

May 23, 2013

Going someplace new is stressful… but now you know where the aquatherapy place is and you know roughly what’s going to happen when you get there, so it should be a lot easier on you. (huggles)