Physical Therapy

This afternoon I went to Not-Aqua physical therapy and everything went very well.

I can actually lie on my side and raise my outstretched left leg up. Not as high as the other leg, but at one time I couldn’t raise it at all. I had an interesting discussion with the physical therapist where I told her how much I missed being able to walk without a cane. Long-time readers may remember how much and how often I used to walk in Vermont and how much I loved it. While I was exercising, I was talking about this and J., the therapist, said that if I kept on working as hard as I am doing, she feels that there is a really good chance I can eventually go caneless again! I have to say I was VERY encouraged. J. told me to go out every day I could and walk for a short time holding the cane parallel to the ground so that it is there if I need it. She told me not to try and push myself too hard on this. If I can do five minutes without a cane that would be excellent at this point. She also gave me some other exercises to do.

A very interesting thing happened at the end.  J. told me that that she and P. {aqua therapy} had been talking and they agreed to ask me if I would like to continue the way I am or drop the aqua therapy and add more non-aqua therapy in its place. J. said that P. was concerned that although I  liked the water therapy, it was obvious to her that finding my way there, finding a parking place and getting to where I was going was  stressing me out big-time. And, of course, she was right. I felt a huge burden lift when J. said this and so I now have no more water therapy and more physical therapy in a place that takes me 10 minutes to drive to! There are actually two pools in this complex and I am planning on going a couple of times a week to do what I was doing with P.! I really like PT with J. She encourages me to figure out which muscle or groups of muscles are being moved by the various exercises and I find that fascinating.

Tomorrow I will look for a blank journal and check how long Google would suggest for time getting to the place where the art journal class is offered. Then I will put the address into the GPS and be ready to go on Saturday!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
June 6, 2013

Glad the therapy is working out and you could sort something out for the water therapy. If you can get into the pool on your own, moving in the water is super super good for you… when I go out to walk some place, I always start out carrying the cane, but I don’t usually get further than the end of our street before I have to start using it.(huggles)

June 6, 2013

sounds like you have some pretty smart p/t’s. they seem to know what you need. and if you have pools available, go for it… use them as much as you can. take care,

June 6, 2013

Hooray for not having the stressful drive! Today’s blessing!

June 6, 2013

I’ve found that a good physical therapist is worth his/her weight in gold. I kind of wish they could practice medicine, too, LOL.

June 6, 2013

That is terrific news! I hope that you will be able to go about caneless soon.

June 6, 2013

I am so happy that you have found some wonderful PTs who seem to be in tune with you, not just as a patient, but as a person with your concerns & anxiety surrounding the water therapy. It works wonders for the spirits and one’s mood. So refreshing!

June 7, 2013

Delighted to read that you are doing so well. I’m thinking that the art “therapy” will be another great form for you.

June 8, 2013

yaaaaay!! I remember how much you used to enjoy walking, and it will be absolutely awesome if you can do that again! :o) !! And it sounds very likely! And I am sooooo glad you don’t have to go to the aqua therapy place anymore. It is obvious that you have therapists who really care about YOU. :o) !! ryn: thanks! I will be so excited when the book is completed and people can read it! :o) !!!!! hugs, Nicky