Some Thoughts

  • I did not realize until very recently how much stress my poor body had gone through since Fred died. And what made me think of this? The fact that I am back to normal. These days I wake up happy and hungry, the way I used to be! I read somewhere that the death of a partner and moving were both on the list of HUGE sources of stress. No wonder I had such a bad time since I experienced both of these in a six-month period!
  • I am doing quite well on shopping for a small amount of groceries every ten days of so. Although I am a little annoyed that Target does not stock my favorite rye bread, I actually spend less  per month by buying the way I have been doing. Since I am feeling better, I could go to the Big Store where there is more choice but I am going to stick with Target at least until I get the date for the surgery. I don’t want to leave a lot of food to go bad while I am in hospital. {Although, come to think of it, Jake could empty the refrigerator and freezer…}
  • I am making a list for him {at his request} of what I would like him to do while I am away from home. This list is mental so far and starts with "water the plants once a week except for the cacti which get watered once every two weeks." I already have a coming home from hospital bag packed!
  • Today I want to get laundry washed, dried and put away, and the trash to the dumpsters. So, time to finish coffee and get started…

An emotion is only an emotion.

It’s just a small part of your whole being.

You are much more than your emotion.

An emotion comes, stays for a while, and goes away, just like a storm.

If you’re aware of that, you won’t be afraid of your emotions.

 

~Thich Nhat Hanh

 

If you are distressed by anything external, the pain is not due to the thing itself, but to your estimate of it; and this you have the power to revoke at any moment. — Marcus Aurelius

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

You did experience two major stressors in a short span of time. I think often we don’t realize how bad we are feeling, until we start to feel better. I’m glad you’re doing better in that regard now.

December 6, 2013

A death AND moving was a lot to handle in such a short span of time. While your mind thinks it’s perfectly logical and mentally you know what needs to be doing, it takes your emotions a lot longer to process. RYN: Don’t I know it! Now that I’m old and can look back on things, I wish I’d had the courage to make some changes 35 years ago. Things would be a lot different now. As it is, I amnot looking forward to his retirement.

December 6, 2013

🙂 – – – –

December 6, 2013

How long do you think you might be in the hospital? Might Jake pick up your mail and bring to you (in case anyone sends you a card? :o) !!) I can hardly imagine how great a hole in one’s life, the loss of one’s partner must make. But through you I have learned how to adjust to big things like that too! hugs, Nicky

Thank you for your note. Unlike areas to the north, Texas road crews just aren’t prepared for snow or ice. Even a mere 1/4 inch can bring traffic to a halt, but this ice storm left anywhere from 1-4 inches of ice and sleet across the counties I travel through to and from the city. I can’t tell you how pleased I was to read you are feeling more like your ‘old’ self.

December 7, 2013

Glad to hear that you are feeling more normal. I have had to cope with 2 major moves this year, one from Ontario to Alberta, then the other from a rented house to buying a house here in town. Talk about changes. I am still trying to catch my breath.

You are tougher than you realize.

So glad you are feeling better. OD is finally allowing me to navigate a bit. Moving and death are HUGE stresses. What I have done with all my bills is to have them paid directly from my checking account. That way if I’m on the road I don’t have to worry about late charges or have somebody pay it for me. Invoiced are sent monthly so I know what to deduct in my books and if there is a problem it caneasily be resolved…readin on…