Soup, Haircut and nap.

I live alone and I usually cook for one. If I am making something I know I will enjoy as a left-over  {chilli and stew come to mind} I make a big pot and freeze remains. {I confess. Sometimes I eat them the next day!. Second-dray stew is better that the day it is made, right?} Well all this is a prelude to the fact that there is a pot of soup, a LARGE pot of soup on the stove. It is potato and ham. Well, it has a bit of celery, some onion, one buillion cube, water ham and potatoes and pepper. {I put salt in when I get to tasting because the ham and the buillion both have salt.} When the potatoes are  right on the edge of  being soft , It is time to make the butter and flour roux. Then add a couple of cups of milk whisking all the time so there are no lumps, add it to the mixture, lower the heat to simmer and cook until the potatoes are soft and the sauce thickens, Now to is "add to taste" time where salt is added if needed–it usually isn’t, and more pepper is added if necessary! It is good stuff! I am hoping to feed some of it to Jake when he comes over on Christmas Day.

Yesterday was a good day when judged by the things I got done that really REALLY NEEDED to get done like getting a haircut. My hair is now short, and dare I say almost a pixie cut? The person who cut my hair said sure, she could work from a picture and so I drew her a front, side and back view and she did a great job. She asked lots of questions about what I wanted as she was doing it. It is absolute bliss to have hair I can wash, rub almost dry, add a little blob of setting "stuff" and finish the hair with my bare hands. I feel and look much more like myself. I feel SO much better. As I have mentioned several times, my hair has a lot of body. It is actually on the edge of being curly and basically, if I get a good hair cut, I can fix it any way I want to. Well, actually, I can do that Ido I get a bad haircut, too, but it is much easier with a good haircut!

{Short pause here to mix up the last part of what goes in the soup, stir it around so there are no lumps and turn it off. I just tasted it and added a little more pepper and a smidge of salt. }

This morning I turned the light off at 4 an and woke at 7 am. Yes, I DO need a nap. If I set a timer for 90 minutes I won’t sleep all afternoon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

An emotion is only an emotion.

It’s just a small part of your whole being.

You are much more than your emotion.

An emotion comes, stays for a while, and goes away, just like a storm.

If you’re aware of that, you won’t be afraid of your emotions.

 

~Thich Nhat Hanh

 

If you are distressed by anything external, the pain is not due to the thing itself, but to your estimate of it; and this you have the power to revoke at any moment. — Marcus Aurelius

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 23, 2013

You’re lucky having hair like that. Mine just flops and has no body!

December 23, 2013

I love self-styling hair! Unfortunately, mine is nicely curled in the back and almost straight on the top and sides. So I have to work at it a bit to make it work. :-/ I wish you lived next door! I have to make potato soup for Reading Circle on Thursday, and I don’t have a good recipe. Well, I’ve got a recipe, but it’s un-tested and I forgot to buy an extra onion for it. Do you have measurements for yours, or are you one of those “handful cooks” that just sort of throws things together?

December 23, 2013

soup sounds good. i’m thawing out some chicken and spaghetti sauce for tomorrow. my hair is finally getting back to the length i like it. take care,

December 23, 2013

Naps are good… so is warm soup on a cold day. (huggles)

Even though I’ve worn my hair pulled back since my twenties, if I take the band off, it just flops down – fine and straight.

December 24, 2013

I have a difficult time cooking for just me. I make pots of stuff that I really should freeze part so I wouldn’t just keep eating it until I HAVE TO cook again. 🙂