Thanksgiving Day

On Thanksgiving morning at around 1 AM, I was disturbed by someone pounding on the street door of the apartment upstairs. I got up and walked out the back door thus turning on the outside lights. I was also carrying the HUGE flashlight one of the EMTs left during course of the several times they had come to the house earlier in this year. It appears to be a good weapon! Anyway, it turned out to be the sister of the guy upstairs. Somehow, they had got their info crossed and she came to his apartment in a taxi while he went to the airport to meet her! I was awake and reading anyway so that didn’t wake me up but by the time we had got all this straightened out, I decided to stay up until I felt sleepy which took until 4 am I woke up at 8 am.

About 2 pm, my neighbors came over with a huge plate piled high with turkey and dressing and lots of vegetables and a smaller plate with a slice of apple pie and some home made cheese cake! I made a pig of myself and went to bed early-ish {9 PM} to sleep it all off. Today I have done very little and I finished the food!

 Fear not for the future, weep not for the past.

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) English Poet

Be yourself. Everyone else is taken.

– Oscar Wilde

Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Roger

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 23, 2012

It was rather kind of your neighbors to bring over some food to share. Those are the types of people that I think we all dream of having but rarely get the joy of experiencing. Enjoy that flashlight that the EMTs left. Those are probably one of the nicer, heavier ones that are superb to use as a weapon, and usually expensive as well.

Now that’s a neighbor. Glad you had a good dinner.

November 23, 2012

How nice of them to bring all that food!

November 23, 2012

🙂 – – – –

November 23, 2012

That was very sweet of them. I’m glad you got to feast!

November 24, 2012

What a thoughtful neighbour.

November 24, 2012

What a funny mix-up…..but not to them at the time, I’m sure. :o) Aw, I’m glad you have such great neighbors! I think there’s no better way to spend Thanksgiving than eating and relaxing! hugs, Nicky

That was really nice of your neighbors! I hope the sister of your neighbor didn’t have to wait long to return from the airport without her;)

November 24, 2012

i love leftover turkey and all the fixins. glad your neighbor brought you some turkey and stuff. take care,

glad you had a good day. 🙂

November 25, 2012

I’m glad to read that there is nothing wrong with them or you. And wonderful neighbors, bringing you food and pie 🙂

November 25, 2012

Mmmm…glad you had a good turkey dinner.

November 26, 2012

Nice of your neighbours to share with you… and I hope the poor girl didn’t have to stand on the doorstep for too long (and her brother didn’t spend all night at the airport waiting!) (huggles)

OMG Patrisha! I just read Freds last entry. I am so sorry to hear about his death. It really saddened me when I read it. I LOVED reading him as his entries were amazing to me, not just his insight about politics, but of life as well. I will miss him dearly. Hugs,M

You left me wondering how long the sister had to wait. Oh, what great neighbors you have. They obviously like you a great deal.

I carry one of those big Mag Lites in my car, plus we keep one right next to the front door. Not only are they a good source of light, they *do* make an excellent weapon. My husband’s BIL is a retired police officer and clued us in on their effectiveness as a weapon. I’m so glad you have neighbors willing to extend kindness to you 🙂

November 27, 2012

What thoughtful neighbors you have. So nice to hear in this day and age.