Positive Thoughts

  • I am very appreciative of the fact that I am having days when I feel normal again. Normal I classify as days when I get things done. Today was one of those days.
  • Something I have noticed which confirms I am slowly moving back to normal is that I have almost completely stopped taking naps. I no longer feel the need to do so, and, of course, that means I am sleeping better at night. I still have the occasional night where sleep is difficult, but then this was true even before Fred died so as long as it is only occasional, nights when I am awake until the small hours don’t bother me much.
  • I called Diane, thanked her for inviting me to Thanksgiving and told her I had decided to stay home because I was getting very anxious about being in a crowd of people most of whom I don’t know. I will not be lonely by myself. Fred always enjoyed Thanksgiving and so we celebrated it, but it is a holiday that doesn’t mean much to me because I grew up in England where it isn’t a part of our culture. I will be fine and if I am fortunate, I may have a Day with Energy again!.
  • Now, Christmas is a holiday I would not like to spend alone so I am glad to be going to Mississippi to spend it with my older son and his wife. New Year will be in North Carolina with my younger son. {I have dug out my little camera so he can take a picture of me getting in and out of his HUGE truck!}
  • I hope every one who celebrates Thanksgiving has a great day!

Fear not for the future, weep not for the past.

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) English Poet

Be yourself. Everyone else is taken.

– Oscar Wilde

Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Roger

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 21, 2012

I love that you are feeling more energetic. I totally empathize with your anxiety about being in a crowd of strangers. I’d rather stay home, too. 🙂

November 21, 2012

🙂 – – – –

Your entries are reflecting your uplifted mood and it brings a smile to my face to see your emoticons! I hope tomorrow is a great energy day for you, too 😀

I’m never lonely by myself, either. I love hearing that you are feeling better, and that you will have a nice day on your own tomorrow.

November 21, 2012

I hope that you have a good holiday too. Very glad to hear that you’ll be spending Christmas with your family.

When I didn’t live close to family I hated thanksgiving. Not because I was far from family, but because that was a day I didn’t have to work and I wanted to Get Stuff Done, and of course all of the stores are closed that day lol.

I don’t do well in crowds myself…always preferred to stay home alone on Thanksgiving when the kids went with their Dad. There’s something to be said for peace and quiet! Happy Thanksgiving!

November 22, 2012

I hope you have a terrific holiday today.

November 22, 2012

i like being at home alone. it’s nice to spend time with just daisy. glad you are having days with energy. hope today is one of them. take care,

Hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving of your choice

November 23, 2012

So glad you found some energy. It’s something you would think we would have more control over. Renewable you know. But I have not found that control yet. I just go when I feel the fuel in my tank! Sleeping at night makes such a huge difference. Congrats on good night sleeps.

November 23, 2012