The New Massage Therapist

I went to the new massage therapist yesterday and I am debating whether or not I will be going back. First, she talks far too much. I think talking before and after is fine but she talked during… Not all the time. I have to say this because I want to be fair to her but more than I liked. The massage itself was excellent. I felt amazing afterwards. She worked on my feet a lot and when I got up to get dressed, I felt, well, "grounded " is the word that occurs to me. If I decide to go back I will have to work out a tactful way to ask her to talk only when it is necessary…

I used my GPS to get there and, as usual, it was excellent on the highway and rubbish when I needed to get to the exact address. I finally parked in an area that proved to be a block away from where I wanted to go and walked to the place where she did her massages. There is a lot of room to park right in front of her place of business which is a positive if I decide to go back again. I do have the name and number of another local massage therapist who got very good recommendations on "Angie’s List."

Today I am going out to buy groceries. I have been out of bread and bagels for a week so I have had to be a bit more creative about breakfast. This morning I had sausage and "over easy’ eggs. Since I have a tendency to drop stuff when I eat, i am now sitting here with a huge damp spot on the front of my T-shirt!

Ok, time to get on with the day…

“That which we persist in doing becomes easier. It is not that the task itself has become easier, but that our ability to perform it has improved.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 3, 2013

i’ve been using a towel to keep my shirt clean! sloppy eater. i hope you find someone for your massages soon that you like. take care,

You’ll find a way to tell your massage therapist that you like your quiet time. Or Zen time. She’s worth keeping I think, if she’s that good.

August 3, 2013

I’m interested to hear your opinion of your MT. Sometimes I talk more than normal on the first appointment because I need to ask questions that have to do with what kind of massage I’m giving. I ask how they are perceiving the pressure, what they do for a living (this means “what muscles do you use in your job?”), what kinds of things they do for recreation, are they ticklish, is this too deep, etc. Once I get to know them and their issues, I shut up and let them relax. So my input is that her talkativeness may or may not be an issue, depending on what she wanted to talk about. If she’s talking about HERSELF, then that’s definitely a problem.

August 3, 2013

J refers to the dropping of foods on my chest as ‘shelf’. Paper napkins are the rule at times, or something I don’t mind a spill. But it does annoy me to no end when it happens.

I’m playing catch up here at OD….It sounds like the PT is going well and you are fitting into life in NC. I’m with you on the interstates. I mainly use I-77 & I-85 in NC. Charlotte is insane. Please… if you are EVER in my Tuscaloosa area stop on by. I’m two turns off the 359 spur off 20/59. I have more than enough room if you need a place to crash for the night….my OD friends are my extendedfamily who know more of my life then my blood family…