Thinking about Classes Again

Goodness, it has been longer than I thought since I wrote.

Well, I am still enjoying my do-nothing-go-nowhere summer, but I have to confess that I AM looking at the college offerings on line! I notice that my previous Italian professoressa Jean is back for Italian ! in September and that is one choice. I am also looking at the more academic subjects. For some reason, I find myself very interested in a course called Victimology. I have even gone so far as to price the book needed. And then there is oil painting. I really hated that when I was in college for my degree but, looking back on it, I think I must have been allergic to the turpentine and linseed oil used back then. This class uses water-soluble oils… It is taught by a man whom I know when I see him because he wears a wide-brimmed hat a la Indiana Jones and smells very strongly of tobacco smoke. Well, he did when he came into the library and even the books he brought back had to be aired out! I have seen some of his watercolors and they are lovely.

Ok, back to the college choices. I am only going to take one course rather than the two I did last. {More truthfully, I should say the two I dropped last year } There is also a speech course which looks interesting. I really enjoyed my speech course in college many years ago. Speaking in public has never been much of a problem for me. When I was a teenager I took speech therapy classes since I had then {and occasionally now} a slight stutter. Back then, the course was called elocution and besides helping me to deal with my stutter and by-and-large getting rid of my Nottingham accent, I learned that if I spoke on a stage, I had no problems with my speech at all. Looking back on that course, it was perfect for me. I started by "singing to the clock at the back of the room" and then the posture and breath-control was transferred to "talking to the clock at the back of the room." Since I was an enthusiatic singer with no stuttering problems, the whole thing was not only good for me but fun.

There are also a couple of writing courses that look interesting but one of them requires a research paper. I HATE reasearch papers. Of course, since I will be auditing again, I can just choose not to do it… I feel just like the proverbial child at the candy store standing there clutching her quarter…

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

"Fear not for the future, weep not for the past."

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) English poet

 

Log in to write a note
July 29, 2008

Oh! Oh! Oh! What a selection! The trouble with being old enough to do what you want and having the time to do it, is that you can find SO many interesting things to try. There’s not enough time to do them all, is there! You’re probably aware of Mel Tillis, who used to be a famous Country singer. He had a really extreme stutter, but when he sang, he didn’t. A lot of researchers were interestedin that and he was on a lot of talk shows & stuff. Interesting phenomenon.

Don’t you just LOVE that ” kid in the candy store ” feeling? I think it’s awesome that you are thinking of taking some more classes. You are an inspiration to us all! Hugs, M

July 29, 2008

I’ll need a bit of a break, but I am also looking forward to going back to college. The year I was on sabbatical was one of the best in my life. I live in walking distance from a good college, so I can’t wait. I have never been able to do art – appreciate it YEP, do it NOPE. Sounds like a fun year!

Pat
July 29, 2008

I would much rather do 10 research papers than standing once in front of a lot of people doing a speech, so I admire your willingness to do that class! I’d love to take more classes and I’m hoping that I can pick up a tax class this fall at our local community college. Have a great day today! (((Hugs)))

I so admire your ambition and desire to keep learning, and that you put forth the effort to do so.

July 29, 2008

How exciting it all sounds! :o) !! Anytime you write about your classes, I think about what I would take, if I decided to go back to college. I would take some philosophy or psychology classes, most probably! :o) !! Or ancient or medieval history, or art history! I love learning about art! Or maybe a course on music history?? So I could learn more about classical music? I’ll look forward to hearing what course you choose! hugs, Weesprite

July 29, 2008

i’m sure you will choose the perfect class for you. i find it admirable that you want to continue on with your learning. take care,

Glad to see you looking at classes again…. and yes, it must be like a child in a candy shop. And glad to see too that you are going to audit. Why have pressure when you can just enjoy? Cos that is what life should be about, right?

July 29, 2008

I would make a board up with letters from the alphabet and set it on the floor and toss a marker on it. whatever letter the marker landed on that would be the 1st letter of the course title. Then same thing with the numbers. Just would be a fun exercise, nothing ventured nothing gained. And cheap thrill with no real cost involved. be well…dan

I think it’s kind of shame that you lost your Nottingham accent though. 🙂

July 29, 2008

What fun! Glad to hear from you. I think you’d get a blast from the painting course.