Little Sleep and Other Stuff

Last night I went to bed around 11-ish which is my usual time, but I actually got to sleep at 4 am. There was really no specific reason for this except to say I just couldn’t shut my mind off. I Eventually,  got up for a bit and looked at Corel Painter videos. Then I followed a link of two to the Apple site and looked at videos made especially for new Mac users. I had a donut and a banana and finally drifted off around 4 am. And, of course, my eyes popped open at 7 am, my usual waking time. But I did have a one-hour nap early on in the afternoon. I could have slept longer but then I would be messing up the night’s sleep I am really looking forward to tonight.

This morning I walked up to the drug store, picked up my drugs and some candy I didn’t need but wanted,  and then walked home the long way which is actually just a few steps longer than the short way! . It was quite hot out and I had to stop a few times to get my breath back. I am sadly out of shape since the hip pain before the surgery and then the recovery after the surgery. But, as I tell myself often, I may still need a stick to walk, but I am still also thankful for NO pain. The problem with a deteriorating hip joint is that although the pain isn’t excruciating, it is there, all the time, day in and day out. When I turn over onto my left hip at night, these days I am occasionally half-woken by the fact that there is no pain, silly though that sounds!

Beth called earlier to remind me that my massage is tomorrow and not Sunday. I actually did remember but I have no problem with her reminding me. I am looking forward to it.

Right now on my Kindle, I am reading A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. it is part one of a trilogy. I enjoy a good trilogy.

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

"Fear not for the future, weep not for the past."

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) English poet

 

Log in to write a note
July 25, 2008

Hope you sleep better tonight! I have to take a Benadryl and one Advil PM most nights to sleep well…

Pat
July 25, 2008

I think it was very nice of Beth to call you! I know that I appreciate when my doctor’s office calls and reminds me of appointments. I hope you are able to sleep better tonight. I do that a lot…mull over things and my brain works overtime. (((Hugs)))

July 25, 2008

How is your other hip? Are you working well, as far as both sides are concerned? I was wondering about this as a young guy at coffee is looking for a replacement and some back work. Hereditary and not good for him. He is chicken to get surg as he thinks it is perm and might not take. Can hardly walk. Have fun tomorrow and be well…dan

I have sleepless nights like that and I hate them. I never expect them when they happen. I hope you sleep well tonight.

July 25, 2008

Here’s to a better night’s sleep!

I would get super anxious if I couldn’t sleep. I have all these other people that don’t care if I have got enough sleep. I am glad that you don’t have the pain.

July 25, 2008

Every once in a while I have a night like that. I always wake up at the same time though. You can’t sleep after 6 am here anyway. Sam our cat insists on waking is up and telling us it’s breakfast time.

I hope you sleep well tonight.

July 25, 2008

My mom goes to have her hip replaced. I am hopeful that she will want to walk more. She is so unsteady on her feet. Jim watched today as she left because if she fell she wouldn’t tell us. He saw her safely to her car. I was grateful to him for this, but he knows I would look out for his parents for him. My mom has gained weight because she doesn’t want to walk or move because of the pain.

July 25, 2008

I am very hopeful that she will want to walk more. I will remember what you said about waking up because the pain isn’t there.

July 25, 2008

I hate it when I can’t shut my mind off and go to sleep. I hope you sleep tonight. Blessings.

July 25, 2008

It sounds good, being woken up by no pain! Roz feels like that at the moment. She still can’t believe that the pain has gone! I hope you have a longer sleep tonight.

July 26, 2008

I’ve heard that when a person has lived with chronic pain and then it’s relieved, part of you has to grieve for the loss – not that sounds odd.

July 26, 2008

Some nights I also can’t stop thinking. I usually get up and go online. Sometimes I eat but I try not to. Have a good day.

July 26, 2008

Sorry to hear you’re still in some pain with the hip. Do they expect it to continue to subside with time or is this something you’ll have to put up with?

July 26, 2008

i hate it when my mind won’t shut down and let me sleep. hope you are able to sleep much better tonight. take care,

July 26, 2008

ugh i hate when i can’t sleep! i hope you slept better last night!

Hope you enjoyed your massage today. ( it’s Sat. now- LOL ) Hugs, M

Shi
July 27, 2008

Hopefully there you will sleep tonight.

eeek, I hate it when I can’t fall asleep. Isn’t it the most frustrating thing ever? Hope you slept much better on Friday night. And I hope your hip starts feeling a bit better — chronic pain like that can be the worst. I love that Shelley quote.

July 28, 2008

Have things improved any? I hope that things are going well for you and Fred.

Thank you for the note! You’re welcome to read!

July 29, 2008

ryn: I checked my paypal, and I don’t have anything there. Did you send it to jtmusic85@hotmail.com? Thank you so much!!! 🙂 Josh

ryn: lol@ “lion tamer” — I can just imagine! Very fitting for kids that age! ha ha!

ryn: I will have to try popcap or whatever you said it was. 🙂

ryn: I love Anne Perry’s books! I read the first G. R. R. Martin book and it was good but sooo dark, I don’t know. It was okay I guess.