Update

This afternoon the funeral home person came. I was upstairs and only came down when he left. Robbie will be cremated {which is what she requested} and there will be a memorial which she had already planned in detail a week from today. I will not be here and that is fine with me.

I am SO ready to go home!

Today I went to town with my niece, Tabitha. She had a shopping list. I didn’t. For a person who didn’t have a list, I came home with a bag full of stuff! I bought a big black zip-up-the-front sweater {on sale} at Marks and Spencers. I got a really nice light sweater from a charity shop for a really good price. I spent too much on a scarf because I liked the colors. I bought myself some bulls eyes {candy} because I loved them when I was a kid. I bought three books to read on the journey home and have already started one

Have I mentioned I am ready to go home?

Victor wants me to put together a letter to send to all their friends to tell them when Robbie’s memorial service will be. I have to get more details than I have now but we will work on it together. If the service is really a week from today, they had better go in the mail tomorrow!

Fred sent me pictures of my table which is almost finished! All he has to do is to put in the drawers on the sides…

Today’s pedometer reading is 11,232.

 I went for two walks and Tabitha dragged me up and down hills in the shopping area! It was actually fun. I haven’t spent any time with her since she was a baby. {She is 36 now—I was SO surprised!} I asked her to pick out a piece of jewellery and I would buy it for her. She chose a very pretty little locket. I wanted to buy her a chain but she said she has lots of chains at home. She will be going home tomorrow. Her husband is coming for her. But she will be back later in the week.

{This is where I should mention I am ready to go home, right?}

I wash clothes and pack on Saturday and I leave here early on Sunday morning and fly out of Bristol at 11:18 am.

Log in to write a note
July 28, 2005

I think it is hard to live in someone else’s home no matter who it is.

July 28, 2005
July 28, 2005

hugs to you

July 28, 2005

It must be hard being there knowing your sister is no longer there. I hope you will not regret being at the Memorial Service? I find it hard to attend them but I think afterwards I was happy I did. It should be a celebration of her life, not a sad funeral. I wish you well on your journey home. I am sorry things worked out the way they did. You got to be with her in the end.

July 28, 2005

I bet home is ready for you, too!

July 28, 2005

I’m terribly sorry to hear of the loss of your sister. I did not realize in your last entry that she already passed. My thoughts and prayers are with you. Josh

*hugs* I am so sorry.

July 28, 2005

Patricia, dear one, we will celebrate Roberta’s life here in Winooksi for as long as we will feel okay celebrating.. She’s a remarkable woman, savvy in every way, I will miss her… well, especially when I say to you, “Why can’t you be more like your sister” and see her light up…. She got a lot of that as your kid sister with teachers gettin’ on her case… dammit..DAMMIT!!! Best….

July 28, 2005

I’ll be thinking of you

km
July 28, 2005

I’m sorry to read about your sister. I’m glad you were able to make this trip and be there with her.

It’s always good to get back home. How nice of Fred to fix the table for you while you were away…it’ll be like Christmas when you arrive back at home 🙂

July 28, 2005

my heart goes out to you. take care,

Deepest sympathies and a safe trip home.

I can understand it not being important to you to be at Roberta’s memorial service. The important thing is that you and she shared some time together before she died. I wondered if you would make it to M & S’s to buy a sweater. Good for you.

I am going to try this again. I sent a note on the 26th but it did not materialize. Just wanted to let you know how sorry that we are about Robbie. I know that this is tragic to you especially since you were in England to celebrate her birthday. You are in our thoughts and prayers! Love you

July 29, 2005

Yes, you are ready to come home and home you will be soon. I for one have totally enjoyed reading the caring, the love and compassion in Fred’s notes to you during this time. You are a lucky woman Patrisha. Come on home! hugs and love r