A recap of my trip to Toronto

I left for Toronto Saturday morning by bus at exactly 8:30am from the Hamilton train station which is only a few blocks from where I live. It only took an hour to get into town, so I had two hours to get to my first audition, was turned out to be a lot easier to find than I thought it would be. I took the subway, and after taking one sub and than transfering to another… I got off less than half a block from where my audition was. Talk about good location. As a result I was there an hour early for my first audition. This was all right cause it gave me a chance to read over the script a bit more and hang out and relax before being called in for my reading.

If I had to describe my first audition in a word, I would say good. There were points that I felt I messed up, but there were point where I did really well and impressed the crap out of the guys who were conducting the audition. Regardless whether I get the part or not I really enjoyed the audition thought it was a good learning experience. I got something from it and that alone made it worth the trip. It was the first time I auditioned for a role that wasn’t a speaking part, which was to say the least a challenge. I walked out confident I did all right, and that’s all you can do when going to something like this.

From there I took another sub and then a connecting bus to my second audition, which was for a speaking role in a short film that involved zombies. I actually had a copy of the entire script for days and really, really liked it… so I had been looking forward to reading for this part. Once again it was easier to get to my destination, so I was early again but they were very cool about it and I was very quiet and watched other people audition for the same role I was there to read for. When it was my turn I used a lot of direction that the previous auditions to pretty much give a very, very good reading. I read twice and asked various questions about the script before they had what they needed.

The results: At the end of the first audition, I was told I would hear back from them and that was it. I respectfully thanked them for their time and the chance to read for them and left. After the second audition, it was much different: they actually went out of their way to tell me right then and there that they wanted me for the role and that I should make myself available for filming. I should (and did) take that as a good sign, but I didn’t take it as a 100% guarentee since they still had some more people coming in to read later on that day. There’s always a chance (a slim one) that the end all be all of auditions still could have come through the door after I left. That’s why the industry is considered a harsh one to compete within. The plan right now is to pop the bubbly when the e-mail confirming when the shoot begins finally arrives to my inbox. But for them to go out of their way to say they want to give me the part felt good, especially since these were my first auditions in half a decade.

When it was all said and done, both auditions were finished by 2pm. I was back to union station abd back on the bus to Hamilton by half past and then back in steel town an hour later. It was a pretty intense day in Toronto, but it was a lot of fun, and I might do it again if there are other auditions that are worth making the trip in for. There’s a good chance I have to make plans to be on a set in five days, so I’m making perparations for that. Murphy’s law; if I don’t make any preparations, they’ll definitely call back. It was a good weekend for me and I hope everyone else had a good one as well. I’ll give more information about the project when I get them. Until then… take care.

Peter

Log in to write a note

Glad it all went so well. Good Luck

March 3, 2008

I hope it works out for you.

March 3, 2008

sounds like a great day, glad it went so well!

March 3, 2008
CW
March 4, 2008

Oh I hope this turns out perfectly for you! =;p

March 12, 2008

A zombie film! That’s so neat! 😀