Evil fiction, poetry and more writing….

It’s cold as heck outside, and I’ve pretty much bunkered into my apartment and concentrated on my writing. I’ve been wrapped in blankets and sweaters while typing furiously on my computer. Usually this time of year, I’m running on fumes after another long Nano and holiday season but not this time. I’m working on projects a lot more than usual.

I haven’t picked up November’s Nano since passing 50K at the end of the month and that is pretty standard. I like to take a decent break from the Nano after writing just it for 30 straight days. Instead I’ve started a new project this month and I’m already 50 pages into the new book after only starting last week. It’s a very sinister book as the main character is a very bad person. The secondary character is trying to shape him into a better person, but I get this feeling he’s going to fail. So far the poject has been intreging enough for me to want to keep writing. I might finish another chapter or two after I work on some poetry.

Yes, you read that right… I’m doing poetry this week. I started a new poetry book a short time ago and I’ve already written 26 new poems and they’re looking surprisingly good. The coolest thing about these new poems: they’re all sonnets.I’ve always love writing sonnets, and this poetry book I’m writing right now will only consist of sonnets. My goal is to post the book online with I reach 50 Sonnets, which is actually going to be the title of the book as well.

I’m still writing sports pieces and movie reviews for My Entertainment World in Toronto, and the reviews you see posted here are also published on that website. I just finished posting a review for Zero Dark Thirty (which should be called ‘Zero Dark Trash’) and I will be writing reviews of Hitchcock and The Impossible which were both amazing and a joy to watch. I’m going to watch the new Jet Li movie ‘The Sorcerer and the White Serpent’ later this week. I will be posting a review of those three movies later this week.

So as you can see, I’ve been keeping myself busy and am producing some very good work. I hope everyone else has ben enjoying the first full week of the year (first week the kids are back in school too) and enjoy the coming weekend! I’ll be around to leave some notes and some more entries. Until then, take care.

Peter

Log in to write a note
January 8, 2013

Do you have your plots lined out before hand or do you just let the story take its own course when you write?

January 8, 2013

Duckie: To be honest, I try to plot where I want to go with my books, but on occassion I just make it up as I go along and it goes all over the place. Right now the book I’m working on has no pre-written plot points. I’m just going with the flow and see where it goes. Cheers,