Holy Crap, that friggin’ hurt!

Monday was going to be a typical day until 3:30pm, when I was walking to the kitchen… and was stopped dead in my tracks by a blinding pain in the lower right side of my diaphragm. I’m used to putting up with level 5 pain cause of my AS, but on Monday it was 10/10 and it almost dropped me to my knees. I was crying out in pain, and it was so bad… I went to the hospital.

Because of the position of where the pain was coming from, doctors were scared it was my appendix and I spend the better part of the day and night in the ER getting test, after test, and the good news was my appendix was fine… my issue was gallstones. I had a gallbladder attack, and that wasn’t fun. I had to wait an extra 8 hours to get an ultrasound that determined the stones were not too big and I didn’t need surgery. That I just need to watch what I eat or drink to lower the risk of more stones. So with that I came back home.

Just glad this attack didn’t happen over the weekend when I had any of the boys visiting, that could have been a disaster. Thankfully it happened during the week, and that is a relief. This was a real scare, and while I need to do more to prevent most stones from developing… something I’ll go to my family doctor to get advice about, I reminder that as I get older, I have to be more serious about my health. I can’t half ass it, and take it far more seriously as there are three kids that need me to hang around as much as possible.

With a new year come, a new decade for that matter, I have plans moving forward so that I can make it out of this new decade alive just like I’m about to this time out. But now that I’m feeling better, I’ve got to get back to work. I’ve got comic books, novels and other projects that aren’t going to write themselves. So now that I’m back and doing better, I’ve got to get back to work.

Until next time, take care everyone!

Peter

Log in to write a note
December 12, 2019

I am so glad you are okay…You had me worried about you for a minute there…..Be sure to take care of yourself…..Please.

December 12, 2019

OUCH. Glad you’re well now, but yeah, as we get older we do tend to half-ass it! Are you giving surgery any consideration, to get rid of the stones, or can they be dissolved w/o surgery?

December 12, 2019

@thenerve The stones are small so they think they’ll dissolve on their own… so I don’t have to worry about that for now.

December 12, 2019

@peter_24601 – Thank goodness! I’m scared to pieces of hospitals. I detest doctors and all that comes with them too (long story). I feel for you though, because if it’s anything like a kidney stone, I know your pain in some level…

December 17, 2019

oh ugh, I’m sure you’ve been told to stay away from greasy fatty foods, good luck, feel better!