INXS finds their fortune…

Last night I watched the season finale to what has clearly been this year’s breakout reality show: Rockstar INXS. When the show first started, as a long time INXS fan… I was disgusted with the idea that INXS would replace a singer who in my mind is irreplacable in such an open and very sell out like fashion. Then about three weeks into the competition, I caught an episode and was hooked for the rest of the series. I’ve been watching the show religiously since then and dying to see who would win what is clearly the opportunity of a lifetime.

What I liked most about this show was that we actually got to know the band that for the longest time was in the shadow of an immortal frontman for twenty years. We actually got to see the bandmembers of INXS as the great mates they are, and what was really the heart and soul of what was and could still be a great Rock & Roll band. The band also worked well with the singers as they fought for the right to sing on, giving great advice to them all. As a result, I think every contestant from the show grew as an artist and will be huge as a result of just participating. This was an amazing show to watch, and the music was kickass and actually got better as they narrowed the field to the final four. When it was all said and done though, only one person could be picked to frontline the band. That decision was made last night when INXS asked Canadian JD Fortune to be their new lead singer.


The New Lead Singer of INXS: JD Fortune.

While some will feel bad for Marty, I think it was for the best he didn’t get picked to lead INXS. Don’t get me wrong, Marty is a great singer and improved greatly as the show carried on. I did find that he is however too overwhelming and too controling to be held down to a band. He will be a lot better off and be able to do his thing better as a solo artist, and that will give him the space he needs to be a huge rockstar. Mig had a great chance to win the show, but shot himself in the foot with his song selection. Instead of making that last final plunge for the prize… Mig went when a safe selection, which fell flat and resulted in his elimination when it came time to pick the final two. When it came down to it, JD had diversity and that made him the best man for the gig and to lead INXS into the 21st Century.

I like the fit, and I think JD will be a good thing for the band. I’m dying to see what kind of music they’re going to make and I intend to get the new album when it comes out in November. Until that day comes, I have about 90% of the songs that were sung on that show downloaded and I’ll listen to that until I get my hands on the new stuff. If I like what I hear, I might make plans to catch their world tour if it ever goes to Toronto… or somewhere closer to the island, if I can make that fly with work and the kids of course. I’m excited, and I can only imagine how the band feels to be back in action and ready to get back to work for the first time since 1997.

Now word going around is that Brunell Inc. is seriously considering a sequel for next summer. Rumor going around is that they’re going to work with a new band that is missing a singer and do the whole thing over again. I think this is a great idea. There are some huge bands out there that could use a new frontman, and this would be an amazing way for people to get to know these bands if they don’t know them and to watch a new slate compete for the chance to reserrect some old glory for the band. How cool would it be to see Dave Navarro come back and host another season with Brooke to find a new singer for another great band… like… say… QUEEN. Seriously, how kickass would that be?? I’ll just let that digest for a moment.

Yet the moment belongs to INXS, and right now they have momentum in their favor. I really wish the best for them and JD and hope they kick major ass in the charts and on tour. If you guys missed the show last night, you really missed something truly special. It was a TV moment I won’t soon forget, something I’m sure many INXS fans won’t forget for a long time either. Definitely a TV highlight of 2005 and something that made this summer interesting, and memorable. Something rare since this comes from a genre (Reality TV) known for it’s poor quality. I’m all for a Rockstar sequel, and let’s hope CBS and Brunell are too!

Peter


A great picture of the new INXS…

Log in to write a note
September 21, 2005

I still think Michael Hutchence is irreplaceable. I didn’t watch the show, and I won’t be buying any of the new albums. I’ll stick with listening to my old INXS:Greatest Hits CD. It might be close-minded, but Hutchence is the only lead singer for me. 🙂

September 28, 2005

As an Aussie, and one with INXS ties (I know Kirk Pengilly – the guy with the mo!) I was horrified by the premise of the show, but I caught a few snippets of it and got hooked. For me, JD was the obvious choice he has that ‘X’ factor – as Hutchence did. Marty WILL be a great solo artist and Mig – well he should stick to Broadway because he is so freaking good at it. He’s a bit too camp for rock!