Loitering and Trespassing at Starbucks

I’ve been watching the main stream media and the social justice snowflakes all lose their fucking minds because two black men were asked to leave a Starbucks for loitering, and were arrested for refusing. I saw the same videos, the same footage, and my BS alarm is going off big time. This reeks of a setup, by two con men who quickly hired a lawyer to cash in on bad press from a company they know desperately wants this to go away asap.

First off, it is Starbucks policy to refuse access to the bathroom to non-paying customers. Many other chains have the exact same policy. It’s also policy to be asked to leave if you take up space and refuse to buy anything and/or bring your own food to eat/drink there. I know this to be true because I had a similar experience of my own.

Early last year, I had agreed to meet a young lady at Starbucks for coffee/tea. I’m usually early for my dates but the lady I was waiting for was late… leaving me there at a table waiting for her. About ten minutes after I had arrived, I was politely asked by a member of the staff to either buy something or leave. The place was busy and they didn’t want non-paying patrons to take up space from paying customers. Rather than lose my spot, I apologized and then bought something as requested. When later explained to my date, she totally understood. No issues.

So what happened in Philly that made this police business?

It’s claimed that the men in question refused to buy anything and refused to leave. It’s policy in any eating establishment for staff not to confront people who are acting this way, and they are to call the police. The cops arrived and asked them to leave, and they refused to comply. This led to the police arresting the men for trespassing. The two men in question has claimed to be waiting for someone for a “business meeting”.

Is that so? Let’s take a look at a picture of the incident:

What kind of business meeting has jogging pants, sweats and hoodies?

When I think of a business meeting, dress pants and a shirt with a collar is usually what comes to mind. These guys look awfully under dressed for any kind of business meeting. Once again… the BS alarm is going off here.

I think Starbucks were within their rights and did nothing wrong here. There is a sign in almost every coffee shop/restaurant in the country and it clearly says “we reserve the right to refuse service.” We’ve also seen the whole, “No shirt, no shoes, no service” signs too. What I don’t remember is any of these signs saying “unless you’re black” at the end of them. That’s because the rules are supposed to apply to everyone, and it’s not racist to refuse service to a disgruntled customer who wants to loiter and use your facilities without buying anything.

Now there is word the employee who made the call has been fired. Starbucks is in serious PC overkill mode here. This person was fired for doing what any other person in any other store has been advised to do. Speaking of lawsuits, wrongful termination can easily be proven here.

So here’s one question I’m dying to have answered: where the fuck are all the feminists?

Hello?

Anyone?

Bueller?

The person fired was a hard-working woman who was just tossed under the bus by Starbucks for doing the same thing every other store does. She was being harassed by two pompous assholes who refused to buy anything and went out of their way to make her shift difficult. She was intimated by unruly men to the point where she felt the need to call the police for help. Where the fuck are all her sisters to circle the wagons and protect her rights? Cause all I hear right now are crickets.

I believe Starbucks made a big mistake catering to the social snowflakes and the media. They are going to lose money, but I think they’re going to lose a lot more by not standing up for their employees, which is now only going to make working there a lot worse for all of them. If I was in charge of Starbucks, I would have launched a formal investigation and done/said nothing until all the facts were known. No firings or apologies till I knew exactly what happened. Starbucks should have also done background checks on the two men, make sure their stories were legit. What kind of meeting? With who and what about? Grill for as much detail as possible to verify their claims. Check the security cameras to verify or deny their accusations. Was the call really made less than two minutes after they arrived, or longer? Any camera could answer that. They caved way too quickly and there’s a good chance this might be exactly what these men were banking on: a quick apology and court settlement without any resistance.

My BS alarm has been ringing like tinnitus in my ear ever since I heard about this. I don’t buy their story, and I think it’s a con. Unfortunately, Starbucks and the media fell for it lock, stock and both barrels. The manager didn’t ask them to leave because they were black, they were asked to go because they were refusing to buy something and taking up space in what looked like a busy cafe. The only color this business cares about is green, and most cafes/restaurants have this same policy. I really hope the fired employee sues for wrongful dismissal, because she has a good case here and should fight to clear her name.

But that’s just my opinion on the matter. My gut is usually right and its telling me this claim of racism is complete bullshit. You’re free to disagree with me, but I have a feeling we’ll learn the truth sooner than later about what really happened here.

Cheers,

Peter

 

Log in to write a note
April 22, 2018

Starbucks didn’t fire her. They were very decent to her. They said she was only doing what she thought she was supposed to do.

You sound really… out of the loop. Many/most informal business meetings look just like this these days. Unless you’re in banking, or some other stuffy business.

You also sound like your racism runs really deep and you can’t face it, so you blame others.

My daughter and I are white. We sit in the local Starbucks waiting for my husband to pick us up after we shop all the time. We don’t always buy something. We ask to use the restroom. No problem. If we were black I wonder if it would be the same.

You wouldn’t be so bent out of shape over this if you weren’t outraged that some black guys might be getting away with something. So many white guys are concerned with this. Why? It’s telling.

I think you feel like white is the default normal human being and everyone else should know their place.

April 22, 2018

@scarletibis I’m afraid you’re the one out of the loop if you think this employee wasn’t dismissed. http://abc13.com/society/starbucks-manager-out-after-controversial-arrest-of-black-men/3350467/ (headline: Starbucks manager No Longer Employed)

I get bent out of shape when I suspect any person of any ethnicity is trying to pull a fast one for a quick and easy buck. The media  tried to ask them what business they were doing, and the men gave vague answers, claiming to be doing real estate.

Funny how I’m racist because I happen to think the rules should apply to everyone, equally. If I walk in and take up space at any location and refuse to buy anything, I too am asked to buy something or leave. These two men assumed the rules didn’t apply to them, not the other way around.

 

April 22, 2018

I use to do code tutoring at Starbucks and they’d let me sit there to wait on people without buying things all the time (I’m white).

April 22, 2018

I find nothing racist in your comments. As I refuse to pay $$$$$ for a cup of coffee, I know nothing on this subject, but I do know about reverse racism. Funny how no one comments on it when a white person gets abused.

M
April 22, 2018

Dude, that’s totally racist. They can have a business meeting wearing whatever they please. That’s none of your business! Starbucks gives me the code all the time (I’m white) and I’ve sat in a number of Starbucks without ordering. It happens. This is completely white privilege.

April 22, 2018

@m_4 Dude, I’m looking for evidence to verify their story and I can’t find it. Like I said in the entry, I’ve been asked to buy something or leave. Each cafe acts differently based on how busy they are or how their staff responds to each case. It’s not racist to expect the rules and law to be applied equally… quite the opposite actually.

April 22, 2018

I would never go into any establishment and not buy something or refuse to leave when asked, sounds like lack of manners and common sense, bc everyone knows if you don’t leave when asked in a public place the police will be called,

April 23, 2018

Now they are going to close a lot of them sometime in May to have one of those meetings that should never have to happen…It should be common sense to treat everyone the same and have no discrimination.

June 3, 2018

oops. I didn’t realise they had that policy! I think I’ve used the bathroom without buying. I went in with friends and, not being a big fan of Starbucks (I’ve tried a few things and didn’t find my thing), used the bathroom. Are most locations’ bathrooms locked?