October Surprises…

No, this isn’t going to be an entry about Hunter Biden. As interesting as that might be, I’m not in the mood to discuss it. I might do a political entry later… so consider yourselves warned. Just wish there was a Politics Circle to post them on.

A part of me is surprised that October is almost over. I’m less than 10 days away from my 45th birthday. I’ve made plans for the big day, but not what you think. I’m going to spend the majority of the day with my daughter, which will be very cool.

Starting tomorrow, Kat’s mom goes back to work after a rather long maternity leave. To save her a fuck ton of money, I have volunteered to watch the little one for her while she’s at work. So mom doesn’t lose 75% of her salary to daycare, and Dad gets to spend 10 hours a day with Katherine. That sounds like a win-win in my books. This will give dad more time to bond with his daughter, so I’m excited about it.

Truth is, the time taking care of Kat is being split up. I’m watching half the days, Tuesdays & Thursdays, and grandma will watch her on the other days. But because my Birthday is on a Wednesday this year, I’ve volunteered to do 3 days next week so I could see Kat on the big day. I also happen to get paid that day, so I can afford to do something special. Maybe order out, but I haven’t decided yet.

The boys are back at school and doing well. I bought Ethan some new masks for his Birthday, something so cool that he’d never want to take them off. Check out these bad boys:

Yes, the first mask says “Godzilla vs. Covid19”. Ethan recently saw Spaceballs earlier in the year so I couldn’t resist getting him a Spaceballs mask because I knew he’d get the joke. He loves them both and his classmates will be green with envy when they see them!

Despite more places here in Ontario opening up again, I’ve been keeping my circle very tight. Not only because I’m high risk due to being immune deficient, but if things lockdown again in the event of another spike, things will still be normal for me. I might wait until 2021 before starting to ease up on that policy. Just seems like the right way to go right now. As long as get to keep seeing my kids… I’ll ride this out as long as I have to.

I hope everyone else is doing well, and staying healthy. We’re in the homestretch of 2020. Just two months and change to go. I have a feeling 2021 will work a bit better for us, we just have to get out of this bloody year alive.

Take care everyone, and I’ll catch you on the flip side.

Peter

 

Log in to write a note
October 20, 2020

the masks are a good idea!

and that sounds like a great trade off, I’m glad you’ll get to spend time with your adorable daughter!