Please respect the rules….

I had a disagreement with an OD reader who blitzed my entry with a few too many notes. As per my rules on the front page (read it, it’s there) I ask people to try to limit their comments to 3 notes and that if they can’t, they should post their comments as an entry in their own diary. I don’t like it when people clutter my diary with notes, and I made it clear that I don’t like that.

Someone ignored that and pretty much ignored the entry I was writing as well as the point I was trying to make… then left a half a dozen ignorant, rude and very harsh notes on my diary. Rather than get in a tiff over how rude and out of line his comments were, I merely informed the reader that their notes were deleted and that I would prefer they post their thoughts on their own forum and I’d be happy to read them at a later time.

The reader started to play the victim, refer to me as an angry person who doesn’t want to listen to anyone else. I happen to disagree with view of how things happened, there was nothing angry about the entry and notes I left and I held him to the same standard that I would and have held other readers to. Based on the drama he’s creating on his own diary and the final rude note that he left in my diary, I have washed my hands of this young, naive idiot and blocked him from my diary. If you can’t follow the rules, you will not be welcome to visit and join the discussion.

This is the note I left him:

RYN: I just wanted to let you know I’ve deleted all your notes. Didn’t even read them.

I have a policy on my diary regarding one person leaving too many notes. If you have that much to say, post your response in your own diary rather than mine. Then leave me a note and I’ll be happy to drop by and give it some attention.

If you can’t post your say in 3 notes or less, then either put it here or don’t bother posting at all. Please do not do that again.

Later, [Peter_24601] [p]

I made the note private to go out of my way to be respectful. I like to think my request was fair and polite. I even said please. I doubt the person even read the entry in question (the one about Purgatory) because they accused me of making false statements about the Jewish belief in Purgatory, which wasn’t true.

The comment he was referring to was a quote from the Charles Panati that I referenced to in the entry. He assumed that everything I posted in the entry was my words, which leads me to believe they actually didn’t really read the entry in question and was just looking around to pick a fight.

That kind of person and their brash and confrontational attitude are not welcome in my forum. He’s been added to my block list. If people cannot bother to read my entires fully or follow the rules I set forth in the main page of my diary, you will not be allowed to participate in the debate. This reader didn’t show me any respect and for that reason, he’s been shown the door.

Peter

Log in to write a note
YAH
October 24, 2012

This is supposed to be a diary site, not a debating/discussion site. Some people are too hot headed.

October 24, 2012

What if I flooded you with a lot of flirty notes? Does that still get deleted? 🙂