Summer’s almost over…

It’s hard to believe we’re at the end of summer already, but here we are. Before you know it… 2020 will be here already. Time is just flying by and there’s not a damn thing any of us can do to stop the march.

I realize I left people hanging with the last entry, but that urgent appointment was just to get consent to book a new test before all my doctors went on vacation. Sounds lame, but I appreciate they wanted to book it rather than take off and forget. I’m having a camera shoved down my throat to take a look at my lung from inside it. Probably won’t be as bad as the biopsy but this will still suck. I’m not looking forward to the procedure, but I really have no choice if I want to find out what the deal is with my lung. I don’t want to do it, but I’ll get through it like I have before.

Besides that, the rest of the summer has been alright. Hanging with the boys for most of it, and I think they’re getting rather sick and tired of me. I’m getting a little fatigued myself so when school starts back up that will give us some needed space. I love my boys and they love me, but we do need our time apart every now and then. In our case, absence truly does make the heart grow fonder.

Last weekend I took Ethan to a movie to get him outta the house and away from Jon who was getting extra annoying to his brother. I let him pick the movie and he chose “Hobbs & Shaw” which was that Fast & Furious spinoff, which surprised me. Ethan had been watching the trailers and liked it based on that so we saw it. Was a fun movie, and we had a good time.

While this summer has been tight, and I couldn’t afford to do too many cool things with the boys… it’s been a fun summer, and while it will be nice to have the apartment back to myself so that I can write in peace, I will miss the boys when they’re gone. I miss them every time the go. It feels like they’re taking a piece of me with them each time and I’ll never get it back.

I don’t mean to sound melodramatic, but I get a little sappy when it comes to the kids. Expect it to get worse now that I have another. Kat is doing well, and while I don’t see her that often, she is healthy and doing well. It’s hard to complain when the important stuff is being taken care of. I’ll step in whenever I have to, but right now I’m feeling tired and just wanting to sleep after this summer is done. I’ll have a chance to right after the procedure is done and the kids are back in their classes.

I’m making some plans for Ethan’s birthday, which is number 16 in less than three weeks! Can you believe it? Ethan is going to be sixteen! I can’t believe it, but I want to do something special for it. Last year I took Ethan and Jon to their first Leaf game, and that was pretty awesome. While Ethan loves his brother, I’m gonna try to do something for just the two of us. Haven’t decided what, but I will update you when the plan starts coming together.

I’m going to call it a day from here. Enjoy what little you have left of the summer, and I’ll be around… eventually.

Peter

Log in to write a note
August 31, 2019

Question?  How about Letting Ethan get his drives licence?

August 31, 2019

@jaythesmartone Ethan doesn’t want to drive… so that’s not an option.

September 1, 2019

wow 16, that’s so hard to believe, Happy Birthday to him,

sounds like a lot of good time with your boys this summer,

I hope your test went well,