The Best Movies of 2022

With the worst films out of the way, now we can concentrate on what I believe are the best films  the year. This year had a lot of good movies that made 2022 quite memorable at  the local theatre. I love checking out movies with Ethan, and as a former critic for Film Threat and The Movie Insider (I even have a critic profile on Rotten Tomatoes), I love writing about movies on social media and on OD often.

There are a lot of amazing movies out there, but since our time is limited…. I hope this list can help point you in the right direction so that your previous  time is best used watching good movies instead of the crap mentioned in the previous entry.

So, without further adue… here are in my personal opinion the best movies of 2022.

Peter


10. The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent

This was one of the biggest surprises of 2022. I like Nicolas Cage, but this movie came right out of left field for me and I loved it. The movie was unique and different than what I’m used to, and the self-parody of the lead actor and his film genre was quite amusing as well. I had a lot of fun watching this movie which made it one of the most positive film experiences of the year.

 


9. Clerks III

I’m one of the rare people who loved watching Clerks 2, so watching the third (and final) of this series required little arm twisting. I expected great laughs and fun dialogue, but even I didn’t expect how heartfelt and sad some parts of this movie was. It had the same laughs as the previous films but a story that ended the tale the right way. A fun film that is one of Kevin Smith’s best movies. A fitting end to a killer trilogy, and one of the funnier films of the year. 

 


8. Bullet Train

This is the most exciting action films I’ve seen since the first John Wick. The script is funny and clever, and the web the villain weaves to kill dozens of stones with one stone is rather interesting to watch unfold. The characters make this film, and the actors bring them to life that make us want to follow them and even hope it leads to spin off films. Brad Pitt’s post Oscar film is fun, exciting, and an amazing movie going experience.

 


7. The Northman

The Northman is an epic revenge film is dark, gory and a very masterful piece of work. With good action, detailed deception by the main to get even, this was a fierce film that was shockingly good. Watching this on the big screen was shock and awe, and the brutality was fun and intriguing to watch as you badly wanted the Main to get his revenge to those who wrong him and his family. Great acting, amazing direction, and stunning shots make this one of the most beautiful yet gory films of the year.

 


6. The Banshees of Inisherin

This was promoted as a comedy, but I think that’s a mistake. The Banshees of Inisherin while humorous is very dark and depressing kind of film. I was eager to see this film again and these lead actors share the screen again and the movie didn’t disappoint. It’s stirring, thought provoking, and sad tale of two friends that slowly have a falling out and that’s hard not to notice in a very, very small town. 

 


5. The Menu

The moment I saw the trailers for this movie, I was totally on board with it and dying to check it out. Despite how hyped I was to check out The Menu, the movie exceeded my high expectations and delivered a film that was amusing and outright shocking at the same time. Serving a meal that is literally to die for, the plot is unique, original and very interesting to check out. Ralph Feinnes gives an Oscar worthy performance and if he’s not nominated for Best Actor, I will be seriously disappointed. Foodies will get a bigger kick out of this as it mocks the foodie fad. So much fun!

 


4. Top Gun Maverick

This film was originally supposed to release over two years ago. Despite the temptation to release the film online, Tom Cruise who was also the producer of the film refused to taker the streaming option and insisted on a full theatrical release. After watching this amazing sequel, I can see why Tom refused to stream the film, as he knew the movie was brilliant and deserved to be seen on the big screen. This was an amazing sequel that was actually better than the original film. The action was great, the nostalgia was shameless but so fun to check out. There were a lot of happy people in my theatre, cheering and clapping when this film ended. Top Gun Maverick reminded us all why we go to the threatres, and was the best movie of the summer and possibly the year. It’s even better with repeat viewings as I’ve checked it out over a dozen times! 

 


3. The Batman

I was hesitant when I first heard about this film, especially with the odd casting choices. Even I was iffy about the idea of Twilight boy being the new Batman, but damn was I wrong about that. The Batman was by far the best comic book movie of 2022, and Pattinson delivers a epic performance as the Dark Knight and Bruce Wayne. I loved the darker approach the director took with this film as well, and the fact that it was more of a mystery and noir film rather than a straight action film. By far the best Batman movie since 2008’s Dark Knight, and worth checking out!

 


2. Glass Onion

The “Who done it” genre of film is enjoying a roaring comeback, and I’m all on board with that. This year we’ve had some masterful mystery films, such as Death On The Nile, This is how we run, and the best of that genre which is Glass Onion, the sequel to another masterful mystery Knives Out. Daniel Craig is back and again great as detective Benoit, and the cast as a whole was very good, especially Edward Norton who never fails to impress.This movie was smart, suspenseful and kept me guessing right until the very end. I love movies that are not predictable, and Glass Onion was masterful and brilliant in it’s acting and storytelling. This one is definitely going to get a few Oscar nominations, and is worth checking out as it’s currently available on Netflix right now.

 


1. Everything Everywhere All At Once

Everything, Everywhere, All At Once is hands down the most amazing and surprising movie of 2022. With some great acting, complex storytelling and twists and turns that go all over the place, this was a great movie that will impress many this awards season. The most amazing performance came from Ke huy Quan (from Temple Of Doom and Goonies) who I think is the favorite to win the Oscar for best supporting. The movie can be a little confusing at times, but the action, acting and emotion at the end make it one of the best movies of the damn year!

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 27, 2022

I hate Tom Cruise, and I thought Top Gun was really shitty.

December 30, 2022

The only movie on your top 10 that I have watched is the Glass Onion thing and I only managed to get through the first 12 min and couldn’t watch it anymore I just didn’t like it.
But I will make a plan to watch your other movies in your top 10. Strangely this past year well since covid started I haven’t watched many movies. Been mainly just doing to series and Reality Shows.

Ooh I watched Top Gun for the first time a few weeks ago and hated it so much I refused to watch this new one. I am not such a big fan of Nicholas Cage so I don’t think I will watch the movie of his you reviewed.

Merry Christmas and have a Wonderful New Year!!