The date that never was…

I had been texting this really nice lady that I had known for several years. We first met during our support meetings/classes for people trying to cope with separation and/or divorce. There are five levels to this program, and this lady and I took every level together with the same group of people.  She was very nice and supportive, and we became friends. About a week ago when we were trading texts about the usual, I finally grew a pair and asked her out. I offered to take her out to dinner, do something nice and romantic. Because of the stroke, I took a chance because I learned the hard way that time is finite and that I shouldn’t pass things off anymore. Much to my surprise, she not only said yes, but appeared excited to do dinner.

So I booked a reservation at a very fancy french restaurant here in the hammer. I’ve never been to this place but I heard a lot of great things about it, so I thought this would be the prefect place for our date. The closer this day came, the more excited we both were for this date. I texted her yesterday and she was very excited to dine tonight, as was I. To make the date special, I went above and beyond. I dressed very sharp, wearing black dress pants and a sharp black dress shirt. I was clean shaved, and the hair looked awesome.  To top it off, I went to the mall located very close to the restaurant and bought three roses for my date. So with that all taken care off, I strolled over to the french restaurant where I made our reservation and arrived 15 minutes early, which is typical for me… I’m always early.

When the staff realized I brought roses, they took them from me, cut them a little shorter, put it in water, and then placed them at our booked table, which I thought was very nice. So with a very romantic setting created, all I had to do was wait from date to arrive.

And so I waited.

And waited.

And waited.

At 30 minutes past our agreed meet time, I began to worry. I hadn’t received any calls nor texts to indicate she was going to be late, or even a no show.

I sent a few texts not to express anger or disappointment, even though that was how I was kinda feeling, but to ask if everything was okay and if everyone was safe. Dates are fun, but life doesn’t ask for permission to toss an emergency someone’s way. Still no response.

After 30 minutes had passed, I stopped standing at the door and took a seat at the bar. Because I was dressed in all black, I was being mistaken for staff and sat down to avoid confusion for incoming customers. I ordered a drink at the 45 minute mark, and when an hour had passed since our agreed meeting time, I had to accept that I had been stood up. I was (and still am) more concerned than angry, as I have yet to receive a reply to any of my text messages (11pm) and I hope that everyone is safe and given the options, I prefer to be stood up than there be a more grave reason for her absence.

At the one hour mark, the manager/hostess took matters into her own hands. She walked up to where I was sitting at the bar and asked if I had any allergies or food restrictions. I said no, I had none. She then informed me that she was going to take care of me, and proceeded to take away my menu.

She showed up a few minutes later and poured a California red wine, stating that the food she ordered would go best with it. Since my stomach was growling, I didn’t intend to leave without eating… so I decided to go with the flow.

My appetizer arrived a few minutes later, which was grilled asparagus with bacon and cheese. The app was brilliant, and tastes as good as it looks. I thought it was cute that my food was being ordered for me, and since I was only going to spend half of what was originally intended, I didn’t mind and went with it.

The asparagus was amazing, so much I’m surprised I didn’t lick the plate. I remember seeing the asparagus in the menu, and its price as well, but I was starting to enjoy myself and never said a single word about it. I was actually enjoying how well I was being treated. I know some people who have issues with food, and wouldn’t like other people ordering for them… but I okay with it. They were trying to make my experience with them a positive one after such a rough start.

An effort that was greatly appreciated, especially when the main course arrived.

My main course was a steak & fries platter. To be honest, I had been eyeing the steak but was hesitant. I was considering something lighter for my date, but never had the chance to order so the host/manager ordered this for me… and she even correctly guessed that I liked my steak cooked medium. Quite impressive and she was happy to hear that medium was what I preferred.

The steak was magnificent, and the fries were a nice compliment as I thoroughly enjoyed my meal. Everything I had heard about this place was clearly true, but I never expected the staff and manager to be so nice and outgoing. The manger brought over the dessert menu, and while I wanted to order something to show more support, I was full from the food I had eaten already and politely declined. As tempting as the cheese cake looked, I had eaten enough and was still trying to loose weight. So I decided to call it quits and informed her I couldn’t eat another bite, and thanked her for her very gracious hospitality.

This is when I asked for the bill.

And this is when the manager/host informed me there was no bill: dinner was on the house.

I was stunned by her response and asked her if was sure about that, informing her that I was more than willing to pay for what I had eaten. She said no again. I asked again, and each time my money was refused. The restaurant had comped my meal, and I was beyond surprised by the gesture. After being refused a final time, I then thanked her and the staff for doing their best to make a date that never was a very memorable experience. I’ve never had a meal comped like that before, so I walked out still surprised from what had happened. Despite the fact that my date never showed up, I walked out of this fine restaurant feeling good, and very full.

It’s been over four hours since we were supposed to meet for our date, and I haven’t received any response to my text messages. I hope nothing serious happened and no one was hurt. No one likes to be stood up, but I really hope there isn’t a good reason to explain her absence. I’d rather be stood up than hear someone was hurt or worse that caused her to bail on me. Part of me hopes she forgot or changed her mind but was afraid to text. As long as everyone on her side is physically okay, my ego will survive… especially considering how good my belly feels right now.

So that is the story about the date that never was. While it had a positive ending, I will update you guys if I eventually get anymore details. Needless to say, I am very impressed by this little place. What they did was very nice, and makes me want to go back and spend more money there just to return the favor. The food was amazing, so there’s another good reason to go back.

So that was my Tuesday, a night that I won’t forget anytime soon.

Cheers,

Peter

 

Log in to write a note
May 30, 2018

nice

May 30, 2018

Awww Peter!  I’m sorry your date never showed up. But it sounds like you have some good karma on your side.  That was so nice of them to offer you dinner.  I know what it’s like to be stood up – it’s not fun.  Hopefully she comes around and gives you a reason why.  Xoxo, Elle

May 30, 2018

I’ve been stood up before, no reason ever given. It’s discourteous at best. At least have the grace to come up with a transparent excuse.

Seriously, though, I hope she’s okay.

Sounds like a wonderful meal.

May 30, 2018

What a lovely restaurant! I am glad you were so pampered and looked after! I am sorry she did this.

May 30, 2018

I hope everything is ok, but still it sucks you haven’t heard anything,

how kind of the restaurant, sounds like a great place, I’ll have to check it out next time I’m in the Hammer,

May 30, 2018

Sorry you had the experience of being stood up.  I’m glad the evening developed a positive slant due to the restaurant’s determination to make it so.  I would be like you and want to go back to have the ability to repay the favor.

May 30, 2018

You are a true gentleman…why are there not more guys like you?  I am so sorry she stood you up. Hopefully you will find out why she didn’t show and tell you the true reason why.  If you don’t mind travelling to B.C. I would go out for dinner with you…..

June 3, 2018

I’m sorry about the date,esp since you made such a beautiful effort. I am very happy to hear that the manager was so kind. I love stories like that. Sometimes the world is so negative but people like that manager make things seem brighter.