12/12/05

Well, school got out, oh almost two hours ago – and I’m still here. There is a school board meeting tonight and I have to give a presentation; “Spotlight on Education” to talk about what the students are doing. Yippy skippy. I know what I am presenting on, my unit on Career and College Exploration that I am having both the Junior and Seniors work on – they are looking up colleges and training school for what they are interested in, and I am MAKING them apply, as well as MAKING them apply for scholarships – I am such a HORRIBLE teacher aren’t I? Oh, I am also having them put together portfolios of this information so they can use it at a later date, including things like Resumes and cover letters for applying for jobs . . . I know, I assign useless busy work . . . .

Can you hear the sarcasm? The best part, I pulled it on my kids >:)

But still, it’s almost 6 pm, the meeting isn’t until 7, and then I have an hour drive home and work to do for tomorrow; SO I am writing up my lesson plans and posting them here so I can edit them and finalize them for tomorrow. Might as well post them in this entry so you can see the horrible things I do to my kids >:)

Journal Write: ~I need to think of one!~

Seniors:
~ reminder Autobiogrophies were due last week, GET THOSE IN
~ hand back work; check on missing cover letters/resumes
~ check: How is the scholarship research going? Find anything useful? (if not to you, someone else in class??)
~ time for research / essay writing + REMINDER: first essay due before you leave for break

Freshmen:
~ To Kill a Mockingbird – discuss yesterday’s short write; comparing the death of Tom Robbinson to the shooting of Mockingbirds
~ chapter 26/27 aloud in class

Sophomores:
~ Check on rough drafts of stories – editing groups; 3 max
+ hand out editing sheets, explain to whole class – group editing
sit in on groups – grade
~ begin writing next draft of story

Prep: + IEP meeting +
+ file; grading

Juniors:
~ review – Autobiogrophies were due last week; story of YOU, make it interesting instead of carbon copies of each other
~ hand back work; check on missing cover letters/resumes
~ check: How is the scholarship research going? Find anything useful? (if not to you, someone else in class??)
~ time for research / essay writing + REMINDER: first essay due before you leave for break

Skills:
~Chapter 5 – The Call of the Wild; read aloud & discuss
~ possible time to work on other:
+ D & R – Junior Project – find topic of interest / research on topic
+ Da – Senior Project –

Read 180:
~ Silent Reading / Group Work = Next article in work book
+ reading skill: finding the main idea & supporting details

Log in to write a note