4 Snow Days = Extra Week of Winter Break – ProseBox

My school was supposed to go back from winter break starting on January 2nd.

Then the snow came. And it didn’t stop. Today was day 4 of snow days; it is the 5th this school year. I live 50 miles away from my school on the valley floor, and my school is up in the mountains. Yesterday I had just under a foot of snow on my car after the snowfall yesterday. If I could figure out how pictures work on this, I would post a few.

Mon – School was closed due to unsafe, icy roads. I am from Alaska initially, so I am actually glad my school called it. I know I can drive, but I also know it would take most almost 2 hours to get there safely due to roads and other drivers. Past Experience with this one and the type of weather we have right now.

Tues – School was initially going to be on a 2-hour delay. I woke up to a call saying that due to ‘winter weather’ school was closed. Then I looked out my windows, and thought, “Oh how cute, there is 5 inches of snow here on the valley floor.” Then I looked online, and the folks I work with who live around the school posted damn near blizzard whiteout pictures. It was lovely, but it was snowing hard.

When I think about it, it was snowing when I went to bed Monday, and it didn’t stop until after I went to bed Tuesday. When I woke up Wednesday, I noticed the foot of snow on my car.

Wed – No school due to driving conditions – the entire county, and the ones to the North, East, and West of where I am were snowed in. Strangely, most of the cities here do not have snow plows / snow removal equipment, and they count on the County to use their equipment… Poor planning all the way around when it snows.

Thurs – We were going to have school today. I got a call that it would be on a 2 hour delayed start because of icy roads. I thought, “I can live with that.” Then I put my phone to charge and missed the next call about an hour later. Apparently, the bus company we contract with was not going to run Thursday due to the roads, so we could not have school today. How often does it happen that the bus company says “Nope?”

My school is Mon – Thurs, so 4 snow days in a row means a whole extra week off after Winter Break for my students. I am sure the kids liked it. I would have liked it as well, except that I didn’t get any rest. I was up late waiting for calls to know if I had school or not. Then I didn’t sleep well because of the stress thinking of driving to work and trying to figure out the safest way possible – ONLY to get the call in the morning that school was canceled.

And tomorrow, I get to drive to the literal other end of the state for a meeting/training this weekend. The snowy weather down where I live is supposed to be replaced by freezing rain, and from the reports, I have seen, the snow is moving North towards where I need to go. Yippee?

At least about 10 miles away from where I need to go, my favorite uncle lives, along with two of my older cousins that are really good friends. So perhaps I’ll end up staying with them if I get stuck…

Log in to write a note