Standing on the Corner Watching all the Girls Go By

Okay Boomer. Well who the hell knew they didn’t like it? Wasn’t it The Four Lads song back in 1956 that glorified the wonderful male pastime of admiring the female form in public?

All those days are gone of course now. The song certainly didn’t age well. It’s at least no longer politically correct. Remind me to Google The Four Lads sometime and find out how they made out.

How could we possibly have been so mistaken in our beliefs? I suppose it happens all the time. Just look around.

It seems as if anytime there are two choices that’s when we get in trouble. Poor John Lennon. He’s probably turning over in his grave. What ever happened to “Come Together”? That’s probably inappropriate now too. Maybe it’s a sexual play on words and and we can’t have that. We have to be careful not to make anybody uncomfortable.

I think I’m going to start wearing my “Okay Boomer” pin as a Red Badge of Courage. Yep. I’m coming out of the closet. Just don’t you make me feel uncomfortable.

“Tyranny of the Majority “? Who said that? Remind me to Google that too. Memory ain’t what it used to be. But when you’re an “Okay Boomer” don’t you have the full support of the P C police? Ageism and all that? Don’t you dare violate my right to be an ass.

I want to be the Boomer’s Boomer. Way over to the left on the Boomers Spectrum Or is it right on the Spectrum? Oh crap. Now I’m in trouble with the Spectrum people. I didn’t mean it. I’m just a Boomer

And I didn’t mean it when I said Left and Right. I meant no disrespect. It’s just that everybody has moved from the Middle where I used to come from out to the fringes where red is more red, blue is more blue, north is more north, south is more south, black is more black, white is more white.

And when we say all lives matter, that isn’t what it means anymore.

Yep. I’m coming out. Bullying is okay. After all, it says it right up there on the wall  in the evening news:

“All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.”

Log in to write a note
July 14, 2020

“Who said the tyranny of the majority?”

source: edsitement.neh.gov/closer-readings/alexis-de-tocquevilles-warning-tyranny-majority

“In 1837 Frenchman Alexis Tocqueville saw and criticized the way white majorities supported the institution of slavery and the unjust treatment of free blacks and Native Americans. In fact, the greatest danger Americans faced was inherent in their treatment of unpopular minorities.”

July 14, 2020

@sleepygene Thank you for your note. My source was “On Liberty ” John Stuart Mill

July 15, 2020

@robertleroy I didn’t know much about Mill before college. He’d been categorized as one of those people who think they know better than God. Now I understand he was an 1800s extension of the 1600s and 1700s thinkers could tell the Bible contradicted itself and contradicted scientific knowledge.  Most of the educated in Victorian England, for instance, understood that Genesis was at odds with Natural History.  But they couldn’t find a narrative that fit the facts. Charles Darwin finally produced that, at the expense of his Domestic Tranquility.  Emma Darwin was a world class manipulator who kept her husband silent on evolution for decades. She told him, “Oh, Chuckipoo, I can’t face the thought of Eternity without you.”  And he let her push him around.  Check out the unexpurgated Charles Darwin Autobiography, with omitted passages restored by Darwin’s granddaughter Nora Barlow in a 1958 edition to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the publication of The Origin of Species. Nora Barlow found notes in her attic made after Darwin’s death by his revisionist wife and eldest son. It’s all so manipulative it’ll make you want to puke.  Lying for Christ is a western tradition. So is opposing Science. in the 1860s, rebel slaveholders found common cause with anti-intellectuals trying to turn back the enlightenment. Are all men created equal (and wimmens) making the Old Testament the world’s greatest fiction? Or was Thomas Jefferson wrong, suffering from hypocrisy? I think Jefferson was right, but suffered from weakness. He didn’t have the strength to fight a battle against slavery he knew he couldn’t win.

Do you know how many times slavery was mentioned in the original US Constitution of 179o? It’s a slippery thing to track.  The “Founding Fathers” all agreed the Constitution could not be amended regarding Slavery until 1808.  They didn’t have the balls to call it slavery. They called it, “The import of human cargo” or something similar which I am too tired to look up.” Lookitup yourself, I beg of you. The more people who understand it, the stronger we are as a inheritors of that fine mess.

July 16, 2020

@sleepygene thank you for your fine response. I only discovered Mill recently myself. It was a good day. All this crap about fake news and revisionosm and truth and facts has led me to the conclusion that it is all subjective anyway. It’s what we decide to believe that’s important. And in the final analysis we don’t have a lot of control over that. So let’s raise a glass. Today’s a good day too!

July 14, 2020

I think it’s been since the 90’s that everything has changes and what we think is okay like the Washington red Skins and the Edmonton Eskimos and all those base ball teams that are not offensive but when they were created before time even started it’s a bad thing now?  When I heard that all these teams had to change thir identity I was like….. You bastards these are their identifying marks and now the real confusion will set in.  I hate change…these teams are icons and part of history.  I wonder why people can’t think outside the box anymore?  And as far as I am concerned men and boys still look at the girls and woman walking past them…How can they not?

Anyways here is the link about that group you wanted to see whatever because of them….

.https://www.google.com/search?q=the+four+lads&oq=the+four+lads&aqs=chrome..69i57j46l2j0j46l4.5658j0j9&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

July 16, 2020

@jaythesmartone Thanks for your kind note. Everyone is on edge in these dark days. If ever there were a time for meditation and introspection it is now. Please stay safe okay?

July 16, 2020

@robertleroy

I am and I will……Just stay safe my friend.

February 25, 2022

“Don’t you dare violate my right to be an ass.” LOL

Where ya been? How’s the ride?