Aug 12 “Holiday”

In my part of the world I’m 5 hours away from Aug 12. I figured I’d write a little early

I have a calendar at home that has reasons to celebrate every day (http://www.nationaldaycalendar.com). One of the reason’s to celebrate Aug 12 is National Middle Child Day.

I’m a middle child.

There are articles about a ‘middle child syndrome’. I feel it’s more psychological than an actual syndrome (other middle children may feel differently). I reflected on this a lot the last few days. As a child I felt angry, felt like I was the odd one. I felt like no one was truly listening to me. My younger sister remembers my loud, high pitched screams. I use to bite, even as an 8 year old. Screaming and biting seemed to be the only way I could get someone to pay attention to me or listen. Maybe to get my way too. I felt like I didn’t get my way much.

My older sister was/still is a perfect child. At an early age teachers were “delighted” to have me as a student because “Melanie was a delight, I’m excited to have you too.” I felt like I was compared to my older sister a lot. I felt some pressure to be like her, but I’m fairly different than her.

Part of the middle child syndrome suggests (from the internet) that a middle child feels neglected. I felt that sometimes. I feel every parent loves the first born, everything is new, exciting, scary, worried. **Not with the 2nd child.** I feel parents love the youngest child, the last baby….have to protect, spoil them because you don’t want the youngest to grow up.

I felt like I never fit in with anyone, anywhere, any situation. Felt like I was/still am going thru life in a daze. I often feel I don’t have a purpose. I remember being 12-14 years old and wanting to kill myself. I wanted to die because I felt lonely, out of place, continued to feel no one was listening to me.

I wonder if all middle children feel like this? Is it just the middle child out of 3 kids that feel this way? What about a family of 4 kids, do the 2 in the middle feel out of place? Or a family of 5+ kids. The internet defines a middle child in big families as the 2nd born.

I have 2 sisters (0 brothers). My sisters always got along the best. I get along with both of my sisters equally, but never has been a great relationship with either one of them, even as little kids. To this day, I don’t talk to them much. My sisters talk to each other often, they FaceTime, Skype, or whatever.

I live in the same town as 1 of my sisters. We almost never see each other. The only time we see each other is when another family member comes into town. The last 5 years we lived in the same town, last 10 years we’ve lived within a half an hour of each other. I’ve tried to invite her over to my place, got a lot of rejections from her. She never invites me to her house unless other family is there.

I still feel some neglect, out of place with my sisters. If I mention to them about this, I don’t know what to talk to them about. If talking on the phone I’ll talk for maybe 5-10 minutes. If I see either sister in person I’d be ok with maybe an hour of talk time. And phone/in person would still seem awkward.

Log in to write a note
August 11, 2020

My older sister and I don’t talk much either. We never really have, even when we lived together with my parents. And it is indeed a bit of an awkward relationship, just like you describe. In my case, I think it’s more my fault than hers. We do get along, we just don’t necessarily “need” the contact. Families are weird.

September 10, 2020

Only had brothers but when we revisit that growing up time it was like we all lived in different homes with different parents.