hm

This weekend is Laci’s bachelorette party. I decided not to go.

A few months ago Laci asked if I’d be the personal attendant for her wedding. I said I’d do it. She mentioned one of the bridesmaids would send out a Facebook deal about a bachelorette party in New Mexico in Sept. I told her I wasn’t sure if I’d have enough vacation time cause I already had stuff planned. She told me it was ok if I didn’t make it to New Mexico. Turns out, I’d be 2 hours short on vacation time.

**Side note** Work has a policy of every work day has to be accounted for (8 hours). So, the 2 hours I’d be short….I can’t make it up before hand in the same pay period. In 1 week I can’t work 40 hours in 3 days cause the other 2 days of 8 hours wouldn’t be accounted for (if I didn’t use vacation time) (not sure if I’m explaining it right but work has a bad policy)

Anyway, Laci’s niece, Alyssa, planned the party. Alyssa sent out a message to all the people that Laci wanted at the party. If I went, I’d have to fly to Albuquerque. (Or I could have driven, but that’s an 18 hour drive, meaning I’d have to take extra vacation time, and find a hotel along the way to stay). I looked at flights, just for giggles. Cheapest one would have been out of Omaha, pushing close to $400.

Alyssa wanted to stay in a cabin area 2 hours outside of Albuquerque. Based on the # of people that went, that was an additional $150 a person. Oh, there is the rental car to get to the cabins (cause I’m not walking!).

Just on price alone, I knew I didn’t want to go to the party anyway (even if I had enough vacation time). I know I’m selfish in this regard. Laci is my friend and in theory, money shouldn’t be an option. But I don’t want to be homeless either.

Alyssa wanted to do zip line (good for Alyssa for planning everything, taking initiative on everything….cause you know, women can’t make a decision to save their lives on stuff). That was $48 a person for 1 zip. I’m not made of freaking money! Then there was the option of food and drinks.

Log in to write a note
September 29, 2018

It can be very expensive to do things like that.

September 30, 2018

@dlk082244 My friend is originally from the Fairbury, NE area. If the party was in Lincoln or some place closer than New Mexico I would have went.

September 30, 2018

Selfish nothing, you know your budget and know that you couldn’t accommodate this trip. She’s your friend sounded like she understood.