leaking water

Yesterday, Aaron (my boyfriend), was mopping the floors. He went to the bathroom to fill the bucket of water. Turns out the water in the tub wouldn’t shut off. The knobs were completely off. He took the knobs off, found something was rotted out.

I tried calling places. Since yesterday was Easter, obviously no place was open. But I wanted to see if they had any emergency numbers to call. 2 places said they weren’t taking on anyone new at the time. Other places just said to leave a message, they’d get back to us on the next business day. Well, leaking water is a bit of an emergency.

After I called the businesses, Aaron said I should have called the landlord first. I didn’t think of that cause I was stressing (so was he). I called the landlord, left a message. She called back almost right away. She said she’d get her brother to come here sometime today. So I get another day off from work.

So for now, we had to shut the whole water system off. Kinda sucks cause we can’t flush the toilet, wash our hands, do laundry. The leak is not a small leak. The water is coming out so fast, it’s like someone is taking a shower/bath.

Kinda comes at a bad time to have a water leak. I went to buy bottled water…..of course stores have next to nothing for water cause of the virus. Next to nothing for soap, no hand sanitizer. So my hands are gross. I feel gross. House smells cause I can’t flush the toilet as much. And it’s only been 12 hours.

On the last water bill I paid a little extra (extra $12), so that should kinda offset the next water bill. Hopefully.

The last time we had issues with the water pipes, the old landlord and boyfriend didn’t get everything 100% fixed. Aaron wanted me to do the dirty work of telling landlord or getting a plumber here. I got that done….then boyfriend wanted to talk to the people. He didn’t know everything that was wrong. So here we are again, fixing the issues that have been around.

Log in to write a note
April 13, 2020

I hope that your situation gets better. 🤗